Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
SteveBeck
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:27 am

Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by SteveBeck » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:23 pm

Hi,

In my quest to run my scripts on multiple hosts I have run in to another issue.
The machines my team have written their scripts on can see that our Elements ie Element 'LogonButton', have child elements ie Button '&Logon' . However after installing the Ranorex libs on another machine it can only see up to the Element 'LogonButton' and not the Button '&Logon'.

I have ensured that our AUT is not being launched with elevated permissions, and launching the spy on the offending machine with elevated permissions does not change it.

The AUT in question is designed for Windows 64 bit, but Ranorex tells me that it is a win32 forms application.
We have installed .Net up to 4.6.1, as well as the Targeting Packs, the Multi-Targeting Packs, and the 4.6.1 SDK.

Any help pushing us in the right direction to fully enable our Object identification is welcome.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by odklizec » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:44 pm

Hi,

By installing Ranorex libs you mean you actually "INSTALLED" Ranorex on the target machines, or you just copied required libs manually? I would suggest to install full Studio. Also, don't forget to copy Ranorex Studio settings from the machine where it works to the target machines. Eventually make sure, the Ranorex settings are stored within the solution. Different settings are most common cause of different element recognition or xpath generation on multiple machines.

BTW, please upload a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic element (both from working and non-working machine). This would help us to better understand your problem and eventually suggest a solution.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SteveBeck
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:27 am

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by SteveBeck » Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:04 pm

Thanks for the reply,

I had installed the binaries, but now have installed Studio with no change.

I have attached the snapshots below.

Thanks
Attachments
Full.rxsnp
(93.5 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Shallow.rxsnp
(84.71 KiB) Downloaded 27 times

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by McTurtle » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:12 pm

Hello Steve,

I have seen a similar behavior before where in the same application there were differences in object recognition between Windows 10 and Windows 7. Can you check with Microsoft Inspect if you can find the checkbox element? Microsoft Inspect

If you are not able to see the element also with Microsoft Inspect, then the issue is in the accessibility implementation within your application. If you are able to see the element with Microsoft Inspect, then the issue is probably with Ranorex.

Please post a screenshot created with Microsoft Inspect on Windows 10 and a screenshot created with Microsoft Inspect on Windows 7.

Regards,
McTurtle

SteveBeck
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:27 am

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by SteveBeck » Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:58 am

Thanks McTurtle,

I will have to wait to get hold of Inspect, but in the meantime I used UISpy, and on my W10 Machine I can indeed see the Checkbox, but on the W7 Machine I can just see Panes...

I was assuming that this was not the case as the AUT was desgined on earlier versions of windows and we just happened to be scripting from W10 Machines. Now I have to figure out why GDI does not work on my other W10 machines, the reason I was trying the W7 was that GDI works on it.

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by McTurtle » Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:02 pm

Hello Steve,

UISpy is obsolete, I am not sure if it is 100% reliable. You should try with Inspect.exe. However, if the information that you have obtained from UISpy is correct, then your developers have to look into the issue and implement the accessibility correctly.

In the Windows 10 snapshot I can see that the checkbox is recognized via msaa, there does not seem to be any GDI involved. Do you mean this GDI: GDI Capture List

If GDI would be working, there should be RawTest and RawImage elements visible in the tree. However, there is none in the Windows 10 or in the Windows 7 snapshots.

If you have used GDI previously and it has worked, then I would suggest that you add the process or the class to the capture list. How to do this, is described in under the link present above.

Regards,
McTurtle

SteveBeck
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:27 am

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by SteveBeck » Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:06 pm

So the RawText issue is a confirmed Bug from Ranorex, that on some Systems GDI is not picking up. A Ranorex rep informed me that this is being patched in 7.1.1 . We are going to be running our tests on W10, and we just need our regression box to pick up GDI before we start our unattended runs.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Ranorex Spy - Cannot see Child Elements

Post by krstcs » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:59 pm

Good news! Ranorex 7.1.1 has been released.
Shortcuts usually aren't...