Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Pavlo
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:55 am

Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Pavlo » Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:50 am

Hi Ranorex Team

Can you please advice why standalone Ranorex.Spy (not started from Ranorex Studio) could fail to load assemblies ?

Brief description of this case:
1. Application under test: Winforms app
2. System: Window 7, 32 bit
3. Ranorex version: 4.0.2

I simply start application, start Ranorex.Spy - and try to track any element in application under test. For ANY element - I'm getting warning in Ranorex.Spy "Failed to load assemblies". Spy and application is started from same user, from local drive. Application is not obfuscated. It works well if I run both Spy and application on another PC (with other OS: Windows Server 2003).

Also:
Ranorex Studio can't highlight elements from repository (seems that it can't find it, and I suspect for same reason: failed to load assemblies)

But:
Runtime is working well :) I compile test into dll and run them using nUnit. And there are no issues with finding elements in run-time.

P.S. I found one workaround for that, but I don't like it. If I copy all Ranorex dlls and Ranorex.Spy.exe to same folder where my application is, and then start Ranorex.Spy from same folder where app.exe is located, then it works well. But this is bad options because when new versions of application is released I need to re-copy all ranorex files, and still and I can't use "highlight" option from ranorex studio repositories.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:36 pm

Hello,

Have you already read the General Troubleshoting page in our User Guide?
Please take a look especially at Reason #5.

Is it possible to post or send us a Ranorex Snapshot from your machine to [email protected]?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

Pavlo
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:55 am

Re: Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Pavlo » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:08 pm

Hi Markus

.Net 4 Extended is installed.

Which snapshot should I send? Generated from Spy which is started from ProgrammFiles, or the one generated from Spy copied to my application folder?
RXPath is different if I run Spy from different place (there are much less useful info if Spy was started from ProgrammFiles)

Update: Both snapshots were generated and sent to [email protected]

-re
Pavlo

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:13 pm

Hello,

It looks like that Spy (located in ‘C:\Program Files\Ranorex 4.0\Bin’) does not have the permission to access files in your folder. Could you please try to start Spy respectively Ranorex Studio as Administrator?
Is it possible to temporarily deactivate ‘User Account Control’ in Windows?

If this didn’t help, please try to reinstall Ranorex?
Our current version 4.0.4 can be downloaded from our archive.
Do you see any difference if you try to disable your Firewall and Antivirus software?

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

Pavlo
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:55 am

Re: Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Pavlo » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:42 am

Hey

I was using Ranorex Spy copied to app.exe folder all this time and only now get back to this and continued investigations. So here are results:
1. User is local admin
2. User Account Control is enabled
3. Ranorex Spy started as admin => same results: "Failed to load assemblies" message, much less useful info displayed in Spy
4. Ranorex Studio started as admin => almost same results: it can highlight forms but can't find/highlight elements (buttons, tables, etc...)
5. Run-time tests (started from nUnit) => all works well
6. Ranorex Spy started from same folder when app.exe is located => all works well

Ranorex was not updated yet to latest version and is still on v.4.0.2
I'm also going to disable UAC (User account control) and check it all again to see if anything will change.

P.S. Firewall is OFF, No Antivirus software is installed

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Spy failed to load assemblies

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:02 pm

Hello Pavlo,

Could you please uninstall Ranorex completely, reboot your computer and install it again?
Our current release is 4.1.2 and can be downloaded from our Download Archive.

Please post the warning messages where Spy failed to load assemblies.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image