Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
DanielS
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:39 am

Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Post by DanielS » Fri May 13, 2011 2:31 pm

Hello,
my Ranorex Studio can't find some Controls which i can find with the Ranorex Spy ( started from the Studio). I'm getting an element not found Exception. I'm using the newest Ranorex Studio, I've installed .Net 4.0 extended, my OS is Windows 7 64 bit and the testet programm is in .Net 3.5, 64 bit.

Once i got this message in the Report, but now I don't get it:
Failed to load the assemblies containing the definition of this control. UI element identification capabilities for this control are limited. Failed assemblies:
C:\Windows\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Windows.Forms\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.Windows.Forms.dll The following website provides more information on this technology limitation:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3250
(This message is only shown once per report.)

I've started the Studio with admin rights but nothing changed.
Best regards,

DanielS
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:39 am

Re: Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Post by DanielS » Fri May 13, 2011 3:23 pm

update: It's the same with the Spy(x86) and the Spy(x64).

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Post by Support Team » Fri May 13, 2011 4:27 pm

From the error message in the report it looks like you try to automate an application using .NET 4.0 Windows Forms? If so, you need to have an "app.config" file in your project, see "Reason #5" on the following page:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3250

And could this problem be related in any way to your last post?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

DanielS
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:39 am

Re: Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Post by DanielS » Tue May 17, 2011 8:20 pm

Hello,
i don't know if the application is in .NET 4.0, i will find out tomorrow, but probably it's in .Net 3.5 . And yes, the problem could be related to my last post.
Tomorrow i will also create the .config file and Test it again.
Best regards,
Daniel

DanielS
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:39 am

Re: Ranorex Spy finds Object, Ranorex Studio doesn't

Post by DanielS » Wed May 18, 2011 11:20 am

Okay, i created the config file and now it seems to work.
Thank you very much,
Daniel