Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Vivek_91
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:23 am

Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by Vivek_91 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:35 am

Hi,

Windows is logged in as a different user(Not Admin) and application is running as Admin. Then I launched ranorex spy to detect elements.
In this scenario ranorex spy is not able to detect all the elements. But when application and windows are running as admin then ranorex spy is able to detect all the elements. Is there any solution to handle this scenario?

Thanks,
Vivek

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by odklizec » Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:30 am

Hi,

I believe the solution is to run the Ranorex Spy/Studio as admin. Then you should be able to extract all elements from application running as admin.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by Stub » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:23 pm

Whenever I install Ranorex I find the shortcut on my HDD and modify its properties so it always runs as administrator.

User avatar
jarrettmk
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by jarrettmk » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:02 pm

Did you make sure to also modify the exe for Spy to run as Admin? I ran into this issue at first as well. Studio was running as Admin but when I would open Spy it would be regular permissions.
Jarrett Karyshyn
Quality Assurance & Automation Engineer
USA - EST (UTC−05:00)/EDT (UTC−04:00)
Image

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by Stub » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:34 am

Lately I notice that I usually invoke Spy from within Ranorex Studio so it gets my whitelist for filtering what goes into it. I don't tend to modify the Spy shortcut itself, no.

Vivek_91
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:23 am

Re: Ranorex spy not detecting all the elements(Child elements are disabled)

Post by Vivek_91 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:10 pm

Thanks everyone for your response :) . I got solution for this. Actually, both(application as well as ranorex should be launched with same user permission) either both should run as admin or other user or at least ranorex should run as admin.