Ranorex Studio not responding

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Chris Wright
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 am

Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Chris Wright » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:17 pm

After playing back a recording in Ranorex 3.0 I am finding that the applicationfalls over and stops responding? can anyone tell me why this may be??

thanks
Chris

Chris Wright
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 am

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Chris Wright » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:24 pm

the time out results in the error...

'Debugger error: HR = 0x80131C08 Code = 0x0'

followed by the error below...

System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80131C08): A wait timed out, likely an indication of deadlock. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131C08)
at Debugger.Interop.CorDebug.ICorDebugProcess.Stop(UInt32 dwTimeoutIgnored)
at Debugger.Process.Detach()
at Debugger.NDebugger.Detach()
at ICSharpCode.SharpDevelop.Services.WindowsDebugger.Detach()
at Ranorex.Addins.RxStudioReplayRunner.OnStopReplayProcess()
at Ranorex.Core.Recorder.ReplayRunner.StopReplayProcess()
at Ranorex.Core.Recorder.ReplayRunner.Abort()
at Ranorex.Controls.ItemRecorder.Stop()
at Ranorex.Controls.ItemRecorder.imageButtonStop_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.UserControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:31 pm

Hi,

Are you acting with some special steps inside your recording?
I tried to reproduce it but the recording playback is working as expected.
Would it maybe be possible to give use a detailed description, how we can reproduce this issue?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Chris Wright
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 am

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Chris Wright » Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:27 am

Hi Peter,

Thanks for your response.

This was a simple record and playback without any special steps and no validations.

I simply recorded logging into my software and created some basic data. Only about 20 steps to the test.

Regards
Chris

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:38 am

Hi,

According to the error message, it seems to be the debugger is hanging and therefore you get this error message.
Chris Wright wrote:I simply recorded logging into my software and created some basic data. Only about 20 steps to the test.
Would it be possible to send us your application? I can't reproduce the issue yet. And I would need a very detailed description which steps you are performing. In which technology is your application written?

Have you tried it on another computer yet?
Are you starting Ranorex Studio as Administrator?
Do you have Administrator privileges on your computer?

Please give me also additional information about your computer
  • OS
  • Bit Version
  • RAM
  • CPU
Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Chris Wright
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 am

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Chris Wright » Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:23 pm

Hi Peter,

My machine is XP SP2, 64 bit, 2GB RAM and 1.60GHz CPU.

I have just tested it on another machine with similar spec only 2.66GHz and its appears ok? Therefore is it likely to be the processor speed that is causing the issue?

Thanks
Chris

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:23 pm

Chris Wright wrote:Therefore is it likely to be the processor speed that is causing the issue?
I rather think this is a timing issue :)

However, if we cannot reproduce the problem, then it's hard to to something against it. Actually, I had the same problem with Visual Studio some times with non-Ranorex code. Might be a problem of the debugging interface...

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Chris Wright
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 am

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Chris Wright » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:53 am

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your responce. Should I log an issue through your support desk for this?

We are currently looking at renewing our license for V3.0, however this issue is making Ranorex unuseable.

Regards
Chris

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Ranorex Studio not responding

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:28 am

We analyzed that issue and found it to be a bug in the Windows Automation libraries installed with Windows XP x64. As soon as a Ranorex process uses the Windows Automation API (and Ranorex does that a lot), the process does not exit any more.
There is an update for the Windows Automation Libraries available that fixes this issue for the Windows XP x64 operating system. See the following Microsoft Knowledge Base article (KB971513):
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/971513

The corresponding Windows update usually comes as an optional update, however, for some mysterious reason there is no separate installation package for Windows XP x64. You have to install the update for Windows Server 2003 x64 instead (worked on our machine):
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... 526c6457c5

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image