Ranorex Unable To Identify Objects In Detail

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Deepak_Singh
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:37 pm

Ranorex Unable To Identify Objects In Detail

Post by Deepak_Singh » Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:04 am

Hi Fellas,

I am back to Ranorex after about 1.5 years :D Its good to be back. Now I am doing a POC of a particular application and need help in one of the difficulties I am facing.

Problem Statement: I have a webpage, In which I have some buttons(All is good till here), now when I click a button a webtable is autogenerated in the page,Ranorex is able to identify all the objects in the header(consisting of different buttons,links) but not the body(contains different webtables and elements). I need to validate the data inside the table but spy is showing the last level of hirearchy "Div 'report-content panopticon'" and that is the whole body(Spy is not taking the hirearch inside the body)

Any Idea or any related thread that can help me?

Note: I have already have .Net 4.6.1

Thanks In Advance!!!
Deepak

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Unable To Identify Objects In Detail

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:45 pm

Hi Deepak an welcome back,

Some things did not change much over the months you were out. For example, to be able to help you, we still need a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic table ;) Also, what version of Ranorex are you using? Latest is 5.4.5. So if you are using older (like 1.5 years old), try the latest one (even in trial mode).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Deepak_Singh
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Ranorex Unable To Identify Objects In Detail

Post by Deepak_Singh » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:06 pm

As I used to mention(1.5 years back) that it's against company policy to post any data about project hence cannot upload the snapshot, sorry for that :?

I am using 5.0.1 and as per your suggestion I am trying to upgrade to 5.4.5, but here is a new problem while ordering the new trial veraion a screen came that download details will be sent to my mail but its about 5-6 Hrs and still I have got nothing :(

But still will try to explain you the scenario: Lets take the reply you have posted:
odklizec wrote:Hi Deepak an welcome back,

Some things did not change much over the months you were out. For example, to be able to help you, we still need a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic table ;) Also, what version of Ranorex are you using? Latest is 5.4.5. So if you are using older (like 1.5 years old), try the latest one (even in trial mode).
Lets say "Hi Deepak" is my webbutton and I want to fetch it. Now when I use spy to get "Hi Deepak", the spy takes the whole reply as 1 single element and the hirearchy stops. Other example more simple to understand :P Lets say all the words in your reply are different elements(buttons,links,etc..) and I want to store them all in the repository but when I try to add I see the whole reply section as 1 single element and Ranorex is not able to go deeper in the hirearchy to fetch those buttons/links. Spy takes the whole body as 1 element with 'Div 'report-content panopticon' property

This is my problem statement want to fetch all those elements but cant get through and want to know whether anything can be done here? :roll:

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Unable To Identify Objects In Detail

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:31 am

Hi Deepak,

If you are still experiencing a problem with delivering link to Ranorex download section, you can get the latest Ranorex here:
https://www.ranorex.com/free-trial/

As for your problem, I understand what your problem is. Unfortunately, without Ranorex snapshot or at least an example page showing the problem, there is not much we can do for you. You see, we don't know anything about the technology your HTML page is created with, we don't know the exact HTML or javascript code, which could cause your problem, we don't know anything ;)

If you cannot post the snapshot from your production website, try create a simplified HTML example (ask your devs. to create one) by using a public HTML preview service, like http://www.w3schools.com or similar. Or simply create a HTML file and post it here. Without more details and example page, there is really not much we can do for you.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration