Ranorex/Visual Studio/Test Manager Integration

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
jaredmatthews

Ranorex/Visual Studio/Test Manager Integration

Post by jaredmatthews » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:42 pm

Hi,

I am trying to implement "Running Ranorex Automated Tests with Microsoft Test Manager" following the blog post by Tobias. I am new to both Visual Studio and Ranorex. I have successfully imported my ranorex tests into a console application and a coded UI test. I can build them both successfully. I have built my tests into a console application in VS following a seperate blog post. As I am following the post stated above it talks directly about coded UI tests. When I build my coded UI test I get the error message:

"A project with an Output Type of Class Library cannot be started directly"

It goes on to say I need an executable project in this solution. I already brought in my test suite from Ranorex but I changed it to a Class Library as the blog suggested.

Do I need to import my Ranorex test suit into a Console application into my currect solution in VS as well?

My .exe is already added to this solution.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

Jared
Regards,
Jared

mzperix

Re: Ranorex/Visual Studio/Test Manager Integration

Post by mzperix » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:18 pm

Hi jaredmatthews,

Looks like you want to run the Class library Project directly.

How did you add the Class Library project to the console application? You should add it as a Reference.

Regards,
Zoltan

krstcs

Post by krstcs » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:38 pm

Jared,

Are you using Ranorex Studio? If not, I would highly recommend sticking with just Ranorex Studio until you are more comfortable with Ranorex and .NET coding. You can do anything you need to do with Ranorex in Ranorex Studio, there is no need to use Visual Studio with it.