Ranorex_Plugin Support

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
SWATHI.K.A
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 3:18 pm

Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by SWATHI.K.A » Tue May 14, 2019 3:28 pm

We are using Ranorex 7.2 software for our project automation.

Ranorex requires a plug-in which is not supported by Windows 10. It displays a message saying, it’s been blocked by administrator.
On Windows 7, Ranorex was working fine.

Due to this, we are unable to deliver the required task.

I had contacted IT support to get this issue addressed.
They enabled chrome extension. But extension is not working as expected.
Our applications supports only Chrome browser.

Need assistance to proceed.

Thanks,

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by odklizec » Tue May 14, 2019 9:38 pm

Hi,

I’m afraid, Ranorex 7.2 is over a year and half old and no longer supported. My best guess is, that you’ve installed most recent Ranorex plugin from Chrome store, but I really doubt this version is compatible with such old Ranorex like 7.2. So, your only hope is either update Ranorex with most recent 9.0.1, or get somewhere a Chrome plugin compatible with Ranorex 7.2. I don’t really remember if Ranorex plugin for Chrome was distributed with Ranorex setup or if it was only available via Chrome store. So if you cannot update Ranorex to 9.0.1 and Chrome plugin is not a part of 7.2 setup, you should contact directly Ranorex support with question where you can the Chrome plugin, compatible with Ranorex 7.2. Anyway, using such old Ranorex version is waste of time and money. You see, such old Ranorex may not work correctly with recent versions of OS and web browsers, which leaves your invested money in Ranorex in vain.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SWATHI.K.A
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 3:18 pm

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by SWATHI.K.A » Wed May 15, 2019 7:55 am

Thankq,

Any idea where i can get 7.2 version plugin?
Do you have any Ranorex contact address?
I tried with Ranorex Support <[email protected]> email address, mails are bounce back.
Suggest me how to resolve this issue.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by odklizec » Wed May 15, 2019 8:06 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, I don't have a clue about the location of 7.x compatible plugin? In 9.x, the Chrome plugin appears to be also a part of Ranorex installation?
As for contacting Ranorex support, you can reach them via their support form, available here:
https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/

BTW, even if you eventually get 7.2 compatible plugin from somewhere, I really doubt it will work with most recent Chrome versions? It may, but it may not be fully compatible. So you may still need to update Ranorex in order to test your app with most recent Chrome? You see, at a time of 9.x availability, sticking with 7.x is, at very least, anachronism ;) Plus the upgrade fee will be now much higher for your company. It's way cheaper, if done within one year from the original date of purchase!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SWATHI.K.A
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 3:18 pm

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by SWATHI.K.A » Mon May 20, 2019 10:26 am

Hi,
I need clarification in software version and license.
Does license key depend on Ranorex software version ?
Is it possible to use different person different version of Ranorex software. Using same floating license key?
Any dependency is their between Ranorex version and license key ?
we purchased floating license key for 7.2 version, if I upgrade it to 9.0 version, will it allow me to use same license or should I need to purchase different key for 9.0?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by odklizec » Mon May 20, 2019 10:49 am

Hi,

When you purchase Ranorex license, you are eligible to 1 year of maintenance and support period, which includes both major and minor version of Ranorex, released during the maintenance period. After that period, you will no longer be able to use newer Ranorex versions. If you wish to continue newer versions and Ranorex support, you must renew your existing license. You should keep an eye on renewal date, because if you miss the standard 12 months renewal period, the so called late renewal is more expensive. And if you miss also 18 months deadline for late renewal, your company will have to pay full price of new Ranorex license! So it's really a good idea to renew the license in 12 months from the original date of purchase.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

SWATHI.K.A
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 3:18 pm

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by SWATHI.K.A » Thu May 23, 2019 2:22 pm

Does Ranorex support "PrimeFaces" technology?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex_Plugin Support

Post by odklizec » Thu May 23, 2019 2:45 pm

SWATHI.K.A wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 2:22 pm
Does Ranorex support "PrimeFaces" technology?
Hi,
Have you read my answer here?...
https://www.ranorex.com/forum/viewtopic ... 788#p54794
There is really no point of asking the same questions in multiple posts. Just grab latest Ranorex version (trial) and give it a try ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration