RanorexRecorder blocks unter XP-SP2

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Hans Hartmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:01 pm

RanorexRecorder blocks unter XP-SP2

Post by Hans Hartmann » Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:22 pm

With the order of RanorexPro came RanorexRecorder Trial. It shows the same behaviour as the currently available RanorexRecorder B1.2.1 Beta. (System XP Professional version 2002 SP 2)
When the record button is clicked, the recorder minimizes and shows the rotating icon in the tray bar.
However, all mouse click activities are blocked (movement is still possible) until unblocking is achieved by pressing Ctrl-Esc simultaneously.
Restoring recorder is possible, nothing has been recorded.
SAVE works and creates all files with the usual stubs.
-
It seems very strange, because I remember that in the evaluation version I could record at least one time. The lines in the recorder window would also fill with each mouse click.
What could it be?

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:44 pm

Post by admin » Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:26 pm

Thank you for this information.
The Recorder uses global Windows Hooks to collect information of the user actions.
It seems to be a problem on some machines. We will check this issue and post you a reply if we fixed the problem.

Does it also happen after a new start of your machine?

Jenö
Ranorex Team

Hans Hartmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:01 pm

yes

Post by Hans Hartmann » Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:18 am

yes, I tried to restart the machine. I've noticed similar effects before, therefore I normally try to start from scratch again.

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:44 pm

Post by admin » Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:41 am

Thank you for this information.
We are currently analysing this problem. We hope to fix it this week.

Christoph
Ranorex Team

nattimorgan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:07 pm

Same problem on my LENOVO ThinkPad running XP SP2

Post by nattimorgan » Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:29 am

I experience this same problem with the Trial version of Ranorex 1.3.1. Once I start the recorder, I am unable to make mouse clicks.

kavo
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:54 pm

same problem

Post by kavo » Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:58 pm

Hei, I experience the exact same problem under Windows XP in the trial version. Any help is highly appreciated!

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:41 pm

First thank you for this information.
Unfortunately we cannot reproduce this issue in our test environment.
It's seems to be a windows hook problem on some machines.

Can you please post us the following additional information:

Does it also happen after a new start of your machine?
Which applications are parallel running on this machine?

Jenö
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:05 am

Thanks to your feedback, we are now able to reproduce that problem. There seems to be an incompatibility with some applications caused by a Windows hook used by the RanorexRecorder.
We have now changed the implementation of the RanorexRecorder hooking for version V1.4 and do not experience that problem any more.

However, to be sure that problem is fixed, we need your help! Anyone who experiences that blocking behaviour should download the RanorexRecorder V1.4 Preview [LINK] and report whether the problem is fixed (just post a quick reply to this post).

The RanorexRecorder V1.4 Preview [LINK] is a zip file containing the RanorexRecorder executables only. I.e. you may just run the included RanorexRecorder.exe, no need to install.

Hope to hear from you all!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team