RanorexSpy: Why are some Windows shown twice?

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
MillionsterNutzer
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:59 pm

RanorexSpy: Why are some Windows shown twice?

Post by MillionsterNutzer » Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:48 pm

Hi!

I'm new to Ranorex and was wondering why some application windows are listed twice in Ranorex Spy while others are only there once.

I've attached a screen shot from my current view in the spy: There you can see that "Form 'MyMainWindow'" is listed twice while FireFox for example is listed only once.

Can someone please explain this to me or point me to a part in the documentation that handles this?

Regards

Ralf
Attachments
RanorexSpy.png
RanorexSpy.png (114.87 KiB) Viewed 594 times

MillionsterNutzer
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:59 pm

Re: RanorexSpy: Why are some Windows shown twice?

Post by MillionsterNutzer » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:06 am

Nobody any clue about that?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: RanorexSpy: Why are some Windows shown twice?

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:08 pm

Hi MillionsterNutzer,

Welcome to Ranorex!

There are two plugins for recognizing WPF applications, the UIA and the native WPF plugin. The UIA plugin is still available for compatibility reasons, but we recommend using the WPF plugin. When accessing the UIA tree, you will receive a technology limitation warning.
Ranorex Technology Specific Limitation.png
Ranorex Technology Specific Limitation.png (6.2 KiB) Viewed 566 times
I hope this information helps.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

MillionsterNutzer
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:59 pm

Re: RanorexSpy: Why are some Windows shown twice?

Post by MillionsterNutzer » Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:30 pm

Thanks for your answer. This helps me a lot.