Re-usabilitiy of recordings/code modules

Ask general questions here.
chfischer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:44 am

Re-usabilitiy of recordings/code modules

Post by chfischer » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:35 am

Hi

I am in the process of setting up/structuring a new testing setup for our rather large Flex application.

One of the challenges so for:

I have a code module to select the screen to test but I cannot run the same module multiple times in the same TestCase.
I could have the ScreenSelect method as a user code item in a Recording, but than I cannot reuse the code.

I am open for ideas and inspiration ;)

Christian

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Re-usabilitiy of recordings/code modules

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:58 pm

Hi,

you can add one user code module for every step you need it in your test case, which calls the Screen Select method.

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image

chfischer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:44 am

Re: Re-usabilitiy of recordings/code modules

Post by chfischer » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:24 pm

So this would mean, I end up with a custom user method for every call of my SelectScreen method. There must be an more elegant solution to that?! or am I understanding you wrong?

It would be really nice to be able to add new kinds of items to Recordings.. or to call a codeModule twice inside the same testCase.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Re-usabilitiy of recordings/code modules

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:45 am

Hi,

We've just discussed this feature request and we will extend our functionallity to it.
So thank you for your comment, it will be possible to run one module multiple times in one test case in future.
We are sorry, but for now you have to choose the way I've posted before, which, of course, is not optimal.

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image