re-use module in other test-suite/solution

Ask general questions here.
davyb

re-use module in other test-suite/solution

Post by davyb » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:27 pm

Hello
I'm quite new to Ranorex.
For the moment I've created some scripts for one of our products in one solution / suite.

I have a 2nd product which I should automate, but i want to re-use some of the modules/code modules I've created in my first test suite (e.g running some scripts to rollback a database...). They are exactly the same, but only the parameters (which database) are different.

I do not want to copy them to another test-suite, because if something changes, I need to change x-times the same scripts. Is there a way to re-use modules in another testsuite without copying them?

Thanks !

nickdandakis

Re: re-use module in other test-suite/solution

Post by nickdandakis » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:19 pm

You can set a reference in your new solution to the executable generated from the first solution. Expand the project, right click on "References" and add a new reference.

davyb

Post by davyb » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:39 pm

Thx for the answer :D ( & sorry for the probably 'stupid' question ;) )
Works like a charm!

davyb

Post by davyb » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:44 pm

Extra question about maintainability:
Is it propably better to move all 'shared' modules to another solution (e.g called "framework") and only include this solution in all other solutions, or could this lead to other issues?

nickdandakis

Post by nickdandakis » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:52 pm

davyb wrote:Extra question about maintainability:
Is it propably better to move all 'shared' modules to another solution (e.g called "framework") and only include this solution in all other solutions, or could this lead to other issues?