Recorded tests can not click on buttons.

Bug reports.
sitheek

Recorded tests can not click on buttons.

Post by sitheek » Sun Dec 11, 2016 5:03 pm

Hello !
I am trying to create some automated tests for my homework (I am studying software testing on Vistula University in Warsaw) - I am going to test MrBuggy3 - a software for students to learn testing.

I have created some tests and tried to play them - unfortunately Ranorex is not able to click on buttons, it points on a button and does not click it. When the pointer is on a button and you add a second click on that button to test - it works this way.

I am using Windows 2012 R2 Datacenter virtual machine in Aruba Cloud connected via RDP to old Samsung N130 netbook with Win Xp Professional SP3.

This is my zipped Ranorex Projects folder so you could recreate that issue :

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8fXC ... 1Radzd1em8

Many thanks !
Wojciech Siedlarz

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Recorded tests can not click on buttons.

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:23 pm

Hi Wojciech,

The GUI (its internal structure) of the tested app is quite messy and not very automation friendly. There are no unique IDs and most of the GUI elements are placed in the same container and just made invisible. Thanks to this, the recorded xpaths are unfortunately pretty slow to find and this is also probably why Ranorex fails to click them on the first try? Which means you will most probably have to manually optimize each recorded xpath (after each recording session) ;) Please find the optimized version of your solution attached to this post and check if it works better on target PC. Then compare the xpaths from optimized solution with xpaths from your original solution. This should give you an idea what I did and how you can make the xpaths more robust and faster to find. Hope this helps?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems