Recorder - Repeat Item (proposal)

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Recorder - Repeat Item (proposal)

Post by atom » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:42 pm

Hiya

Would be good to add a new Item type "Repeat" to recorder tool
Say for example you have recorded a set of gui steps in your AUT, that you want to repeat those steps 100 times. It would be great to be able to select the steps, right click, select "Repeat" and set the number of times to repeat, and perhaps options "Exit Repeat on Exception" or "Never Exit"
In the generated code, the "Repeat" steps would just be enclosed in a For Loop, that will either never break (exceptions caught and ignored), or break on Exception

Cheers

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Recorder - Repeat Item (proposal)

Post by Support Team » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:18 am

Hi!
Has been added to our feature request list.

Best Regards,
Christian
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

kdart
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Recorder - Repeat Item (proposal)

Post by kdart » Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:59 am

atom wrote:Hiya

Would be good to add a new Item type "Repeat" to recorder tool
Say for example you have recorded a set of gui steps in your AUT, that you want to repeat those steps 100 times. It would be great to be able to select the steps, right click, select "Repeat" and set the number of times to repeat, and perhaps options "Exit Repeat on Exception" or "Never Exit"
In the generated code, the "Repeat" steps would just be enclosed in a For Loop, that will either never break (exceptions caught and ignored), or break on Exception

Cheers
But you can always modify the generated code and script it.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Recorder - Repeat Item (proposal)

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:55 am

kdart wrote:But you can always modify the generated code and script it.
Right. IMHO that's the better alternative. If we provided the "Repeat" feature in Recorder, we would need to provide conditions, i.e. "If Else" functionality, too. And maybe a grouping of operations, just like putting them into a method and then be able to call this grouping. And...

In the end we'd end up making the Ranorex Recorder a full graphical programming language - currently this is not our goal. However, for Ranorex 3.0 we want to provide better support for data driven testing in Ranorex Studio. I.e. you will be able to repeat a Recording several times and change the data that is used by the individual record items, e.g. the text that is written into a text field. That should make the "Repeat" item type virtually needless.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image