Remote Agent / Studio on Virtual Machine - mouse click fails

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
amol.pophale

Remote Agent / Studio on Virtual Machine - mouse click fails

Post by amol.pophale » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:24 am

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Ranorex but have been playing with the tool since 2 months as we are in the evaluation phase.

Below is the detailed scenario -

1. I installed Ranorex Studio version 8.1.1 on Windows 7 physical machine (lenovo laptop) and recorded few web application tests. All othe them run quite nicely on laptop when run via studio.
2. Next step is to run my tests using Remote Agent so I installed Remote Agent (version 3.0.3) on hyper-v virtual machine (Windows 7) and added that agent in studio remote connection. I could successfully publish my tests to agent and test execution starts but test fails immediately. With further investigation I realized that mouse click events are not working on agent.
3. I gone through the documentation and read through many posts on forum and followed many suggestions but no success in running tests on agent installed on virtual machine. (sames tests run well on physical box)
4. To pin down the problem I installed the Ranorex studio on virtual machine and try to run the tests using studio (via RDP) but same issue. Tests fails at mouse click action.
5. Then I tried running sample web application wordpress that comes with studio but same issue.
6. Then I recorded just login and few mouse click steps with my application but same problem - mouse click action didn't work.

Is anyone had similar problem and if yes is there any resolution?

Thanks,
Amol

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Remote Agent / Studio on Virtual Machine - mouse click fails

Post by odklizec » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:47 am

Hi,

At first, make sure, the Ranorex settings are the same on both physical and virtual machine.