Remote Ranorex Agent question

Ask general questions here.
Rindo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:26 pm

Remote Ranorex Agent question

Post by Rindo » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:32 pm

Hello,

Is it possible to see the machine name from the source of where you send your testsuite off?
e.g. my machine name is "localMachine" and i would like to know the information somehow on run time of the remote machine.

With System.Environments.MachineName it of course show the name of the remote machine. :p

Regards
Rindo

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Remote Ranorex Agent question

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:51 pm

Hi Rindo,

Unfortunately, there is no such a feature in Ranorex Studio.
In order to achieve your intention, you could store the machine name of your local machine into a parameter and log it to the Ranorex Report.

Basically, the remote report will sent to the local machine where the request came from.
In order to get a better comprehension, you could send an email to [email protected] with a detailed explanation of your purpose.

I hope this helps you.

Best regards,
Matthias
.
Image

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Remote Ranorex Agent question

Post by Martin » Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:32 pm

If I remember correctly, you can actually get the machine name.
And as Ranorex is C# based, you could just implement a solution that will update a certain value holder with the machine name during the runtime.

One solution for example would be to add the machine name to a database and present it in an automated related webpage. Another possiblity would be to send the value by email. Or just write the name to a textfile onto a network drive which would be accessible from all the network machines.

What I love about Ranorex is that with all of it's awesome features you are still able to be creative on figuring out the solution of your needs.

Rindo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:26 pm

Re: Remote Ranorex Agent question

Post by Rindo » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:10 am

The issue is still that, i would need to store the hostname statically on that file. If i would send that job to an agent the agent now knows the machine of my name, but when another user is trying to execute the job the machine name is another and he would need to adapt it.
If possible is there a way to first run a test on local machine and then send it to the agent?

Thank you for your time

Rindo

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Remote Ranorex Agent question

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:18 pm

Hello Rindo,

A workaround would be to define a "Post-build event" in the project properties in Ranorex Studio. You can write a small program, which writes the name of the machine into a text file in the output directory of the solution. During the runtime you can read out the file on the remote machine (within a recording). All files within the output directory will be deployed to the remote machine.

I hope this helps.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image