Remote spying

Ask general questions here.
Thor.Irgens
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:01 am

Remote spying

Post by Thor.Irgens » Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:48 am

Hi.

We currently use C# Ranorex client libraries to automate some UI application. Tests run on the same machine as the application. I have a little dream separating the test running machine from the application machine, so I can load "clean" application machine (VM) during the test. Is there any chance I can issue Ranorex commands (Finds/Clicks) from the test running machine to the application machine?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Remote spying

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:59 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is no such option in Ranorex. If you don't want to install Ranorex Studio on the target (app) machine, you can (manually) deploy and run just the test itself, of course, with all required runtime libraries. For more details check this user guide chapter:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... execution/
Eventually, you can use Ranorex remote execution, which will do it all for you...
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... execution/
However, both options will deploy and run the test on target machine. There is no way around this.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Thor.Irgens
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Remote spying

Post by Thor.Irgens » Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:12 am

Thank you for the fast reply. Not the answer I hoped for :) but much appriciated.