Repo Cleanup

Ask general questions here.
BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Repo Cleanup

Post by BSullivan » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:17 pm

I am going through my current Item Repository and looking to clean it out. We are moving to a different set of controls and I will have to make large amounts of changes to the repo items to keep up with changing controls.

It looks like currently the cleanup button only checks to see if the repo item is used in a code module or recording module, but none of my repository objects are referenced there. All of the references are in methods that my testers call in code modules and feed in the correct variables, so the cleanup feature wants to remove my entire repo.

Is there an easier way to clean this up without searching for user code references for each item one by one?

Thanks in advance,
Bryon

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Repo Cleanup

Post by krstcs » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:51 pm

Unfortunately, I don't think there is. Since your framework is setup in an alternative manner to what Ranorex provides and expects out of the box, you are likely going to also have to use an alternate mechanism for cleaning up your repo.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Re: Repo Cleanup

Post by BSullivan » Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:32 pm

Thanks Krscts.

I thought that would be the case, I was just hoping that it wasn't.

Maybe this is something that can be looked into for a future release. With the implementation of the new "Code Library" feature, more people may be headed down a similar route, although maybe not as extreme as in my case.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Repo Cleanup

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:54 pm

Hi,

You can always make a feature request, either via [email protected] and newly also here:
http://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/150 ... e-ranorex/
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Re: Repo Cleanup

Post by BSullivan » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:32 pm

After playing around with it, it appears that the "Cleanup" function treats repo items used in classes and methods with the new properties as "used" and doesn't want to delete them. :D