Report not being generated on longer tests

Bug reports.
tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by tallahassee101 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:52 pm

Hi,

I'm using Ranorex 3.0 on Windows 7 and have just noticed that when I run a long test (160 steps in the recording), no log file was generated. I had been running the same recording with about 75 steps and a report was generated each time, but when I copied several of the steps and pasted them in the recording ( increasing the # of steps to 160) the report stopped being generated when I played the recording. The "Generate replay reports" box is checked in the current recording settings tab.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:23 pm

The number of actions in a recording should not make a difference. We tested the replay with thousands of actions in a recording...

Does this happen with the standalone Recorder or with the integrated one in Ranorex Studio?
Have you tried renaming your recording? Maybe a file is locked and that's why Ranorex cannot create the log file.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:52 pm

I only had this happen a few times while I was implementing a test with a lot of image recognition steps ( about 30-40 ). After it happened twice in a row I found that if I waited for long enough ( at least 15-30 seconds ) the report was finally generated and it was an issue with clicking somewhere in the Ranorex recording while it was generating the report. I'm not sure if this is what was causing my issue, but it has not happpend again for me, although waiting the extra 15-30 seconds for the report to be generated is kind of annoying (especially without any progress bar).
Hopefully this will be fixed with some of the latency issues that are getting resolved in 3.1

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:04 pm

This has now happened every time with all of my tests in ranorex version 3.01. I run the test from the test suite and when it finishes no report is generated. I checked all of the recording modules in the test case I am running and all of them have the "Generate replay reports" check box checked.
This is making it impossible to figure out where my test cases are failing.

If I run an individual recording a report is generated, but when running a test case through the test suite no report is generated. This used to work in 3.0 for my tests.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Did you configure a custom report file name in your test suite settings? If so, make sure its extension is "rxlog"; opening report files with other extensions is currently not supported.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:25 pm

Yes I had changed my report to generate XML. It would be nice if there was a warning that was generated when you run the test of why no report was generated. I need to have an XML generated for our remote builds, but I guess I'll have to change this every time I run it locally.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:45 pm

tallahassee101 wrote: It would be nice if there was a warning that was generated when you run the test of why no report was generated.
It's not like there is no report generated, it is just not opened automatically by Ranorex Studio, nor moved to the Reports folder. We already have a bug filed to allow automatically opening reports with other file extensions, too.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:55 pm

I'm not sure where this report is being generated then. My entire solution and project is under subversion control and I am not seeing any new files being generated when I run a test with an XML report name.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Report not being generated on longer tests

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:10 pm

tallahassee101 wrote:I'm not sure where this report is being generated then. My entire solution and project is under subversion control and I am not seeing any new files being generated when I run a test with an XML report name.
Normally the file will be generated at the location where the EXE file is placed.
I simply changed the log-file-name at the test suite level from "RXLOG" to "XML" and when I execute the suite, the XML file is inside the bin directory of my solution directory.
How you have checked if the file is available or not?
Only by using the subversion GUI or have you looked to the files system too?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image