Report Screenshot black screen

Ask general questions here.
priyank1989
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:59 pm

Report Screenshot black screen

Post by priyank1989 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:43 pm

I have an application using OpenGL, running automation script is generating Reports and reports have screenshot with back screen.
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (25.87 KiB) Viewed 159 times

User avatar
qwertzu
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by qwertzu » Fri Aug 16, 2019 9:28 am

hi,

could it be that you execute your test on a remote machine after closing the RDP connection?
You need to make sure that the user session stays active on that machine.
More information can be found here under "Keep user session alive after closing remote desktop connection".

regards, qwertzu

priyank1989
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by priyank1989 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:21 pm

I am running on my own machine ...

User avatar
qwertzu
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by qwertzu » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:09 pm

hi,

so, these black screenshots are also created when running your test from within ranorex studio on your local machine?
you could try to disable the setting "Use hidden screenshot capturing".
UseHiddenScreenshotCapturing.png
UseHiddenScreenshotCapturing.png (21.51 KiB) Viewed 124 times
regards, qwertzu

priyank1989
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by priyank1989 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:39 pm

Yes its happening while running on my local machine.. I am testing one of my Android application and its using openGL so is there any chance like because of openGL its giving me blank screen on report ..
And yes I tried your option of and unchecked "used hidden screen shot capturing" but no luck

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5071
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:29 am

Hi,

What happens if you are creating test steps in your app? Does the repository show images or black rectangles as well? It could very well be that OGL simply blocks creation of screenshots and there may be nothing you can do about it?

Also, have you tried to disable full image comparison in the instrumentation wizard?...
FIC.png
FIC.png (36.96 KiB) Viewed 103 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

priyank1989
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: Report Screenshot black screen

Post by priyank1989 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:16 pm

I tried Instrument option as well but no luck, my automation UI is underneath of openGL so may be changing the structure of that I may get screenshot .