Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
kshekharkumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:57 am

Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by kshekharkumar » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:16 pm

Hi,

Recently I have noticed something very weird in my test. It happens very rarely. The Screenshot goes black. Only mouse cursor is visible and everything else black.

Also at this point onwards if any step tries to click or do some action on any UI element, even that fails.

I do not see anything suggesting me that the Aplication under test crashed.

I have attached screenshot for your referrence.

Thanks,
Shekhar
Attachments
BlackScreen.jpg
Black Screenshot
BlackScreen.jpg (58.49 KiB) Viewed 1886 times

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by krstcs » Mon Sep 29, 2014 10:03 pm

This usually happens when the screen on the system under test locks or goes to screensaver.

Ranorex (and any other test automation system on Windows) requires a logged-in, unlocked desktop. This is a Windows security feature to keep anyone from interacting with a locked desktop without going through Ctl-Alt-Del and unlocking the system.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

kshekharkumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:57 am

Re: Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by kshekharkumar » Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:51 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Could you suggest any possible solution for this issue. I tried moving the mouse randomly in Setup for the test but it seems that does not solve the issue.

Also I do not want to alter the windows security settings of the system.

Could it be something else?

Thanks,
Shekhar

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by krstcs » Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:16 pm

Moving the mouse around will only work if lack of activity is what is causing the problem.

There could be any number of reasons why your system is acting this way.

Some questions:

1. What version of Ranorex are you using?
2. What version of Windows are you running the tests on?
3. Is the test system a virtual machine?
4. If it is not a VM, do you have a monitor connected?
5. How are you connecting to the test system? (Are you using VNC, RDP, or is it on it's own monitor?)

I would recommend using VNC as you can set it up so that the test system always thinks there is a monitor even if there isn't.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

kshekharkumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:57 am

Re: Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by kshekharkumar » Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:14 pm

Hi,

Here are the answers for your questions:

1. What version of Ranorex are you using?
Ans: 4.1.2.16100

2. What version of Windows are you running the tests on?
And: Windows 7

3. Is the test system a virtual machine?
Ans: No

4. If it is not a VM, do you have a monitor connected?
Ans: No VM. The Monitor is connected.

5. How are you connecting to the test system? (Are you using VNC, RDP, or is it on it's own monitor?)
Ans: We are running the tests are kicked off using Jenkins


The tests are scheduled to be kicked off in the night and the system might have been left unattended at times and hence there are chances the screensaver might be on. The system never gets locked.

The issue is not a very frequently happening but it does happen.

Thanks,
Shekhar

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Report.Screenshot shows Black screen

Post by krstcs » Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:39 pm

If the screen saver is already on, then that is the problem. Turn it off. A screensaver is just the same to Windows as a locked screen.

If you are concerned about monitor "burn-in" then turn off the monitor (Windows shouldn't care). You can still install VNC and connect that way, even with the monitor off.
Shortcuts usually aren't...