Repository not seen when referencing module library .dll

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Kalle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:41 pm

Repository not seen when referencing module library .dll

Post by Kalle » Sat May 19, 2018 11:28 am

Hi all,

I have two solutions; one with an executable test suite (.exe) and one module library (.dll). The module library contains recordings, module group and a UI repository.
I reference the module library in the test suite solution as a ".NET Assembly Browser". When doing so, I see the module library recordings (and their variables), but I cannot see the repository or the module group. Is this expected behavior or am I missing something?

Cheers,
Kalle

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Repository not seen when referencing module library .dll

Post by Support Team » Tue May 22, 2018 3:10 pm

Hi Kalle,

I presume you are trying to access the library's repository and group modules from the standard interface in Ranorex Studio. Unfortunately, this is not possible at this time. The repository can only be referenced within a code module and you can recreate the module groups in your executable solution.

I recommend creating a new feature request on our User Voice platform as I can see this being a useful feature. It means more when the request comes from you directly than from me.

Code: Select all

var Proj1_Repo = Project1_Library.Project1_LibraryRepository.Instance;
Proj1_Repo.Notepad.Self.Click();
mg.png
mg.png (3.73 KiB) Viewed 247 times
Alternatively, you can add the project itself to the same solution and use the repository and module groups as if they were in the same project (right-click "Solution {solution name}" in the Project view > Add > Existing Project...).
p2.png
p2.png (14.32 KiB) Viewed 247 times
I hope this helps!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

Kalle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:41 pm

Re: Repository not seen when referencing module library .dll

Post by Kalle » Wed May 23, 2018 9:52 pm

Ned,

Many thanks for a thorough and well described answer! Yes, you understood my request correctly.

We are fairly new to Ranorex, and have a lot of automation work to do going forward. I feel that this feature will directly affect our strategy on how to structure our automatic tests. A possibility to reuse a "generic" repository for a certain AUT or part of an AUT, without having to include it as a project in every test suite solution that require to use it, would be very valuable.
However, it's also good to know that the repository can be reached from code modules. That was news to me. Thanks!

For any future person visiting this forum post, I posted a feature suggestion here (now please vote :D ):
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... roups-from

Also, a minor additional request. I have not found any direct information describing repository as part of a referenced module library, but the following blog post have this description:
"These libraries include all recording and user code modules generated by the team as well as the repository holding the elements the modules are accessing."
It would be reasonable to add a clarification that the referenced repositories are not directly reachable from Ranorex Studio UI or recording modules, but from code modules.
https://www.ranorex.com/blog/organizing ... est-suite/

Cheers,
Kalle

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Repository not seen when referencing module library .dll

Post by Support Team » Thu May 24, 2018 8:02 pm

Kalle,

I am happy I was able to help! Regarding your request for more clarification on the referenced blog post, I completely agree and I have since notified our documentation team to take a closer look at this. Thank you for pointing this out!

Kind Regards,
Ned
.
Image