Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Ask general questions here.
Shaifali
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:55 pm

Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by Shaifali » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:59 pm

Why we need turbo mode when we have repository search timeouts? What are the additional benefits of turbo mode and why is it not default mode?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:30 am

Hi Shaifali and welcome here:

Turbo Mode is not about "Search Timeouts" but about Delays recorded for each action. If enabled (Turbo Mode), it skips all recorded delays.
RecordedDurations.png
RecordedDurations.png (63.21 KiB) Viewed 648 times
If there is enabled option "Use timings also for recorded actions", Ranorex adds settings-specified duration per each recorded action. If the option is unchecked, Ranorex records exact duration for each action.

With enabled Turbo Mode, Ranorex skips all these durations and so the recordings may perform visibly faster. However, skipping all delays may cause some unexpected failures during replay, because some actions may be performed simply too fast for given AUT. For example, clicks may be performed before the GUI/web page is entirely ready/loaded. So you should use Turbo Mode wisely and only for modules you are 100% sure will never fail due to too fast run.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Shaifali
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by Shaifali » Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:37 pm

Thanks for replying, but my doubt is,

Let say we have two button clicks. After clicking first button, even if there is no delay, the object repository will pole for 30s to find the second button to be clicked. Then why do we need to add delay after first button click, which is the default case (when turbo mode is not on).

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:34 am

Hi,

I'm not quite sure what exactly is your problem?

The SearchTimeout has nothing to do with Turbo Mode. Search Timeout is the maximum time Ranorex will search for an element before it gives up. If the element is nested (in repo) in a number of app/rooted folders, Ranorex will search for the element entire Effective Timeout, which is a sum of Search Timeouts of all folders above the element you are looking for. Please check my post here with detailed explanation of Search and Effective Timeouts...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/why-there- ... tml#p36008

With well constructed xpath, Ranorex usually finds the element in a matter of seconds (if available). Only if the xpath is not very well defined, with a lot of '?' and '//' shortcuts, it may take much longer to find the element.

So when you using Turbo Mode, Ranorex tries to perform next action as soon as possible, because waiting for something (except Search/Effective Tiemouts and manually added delays). It will still search for an element its entire Search/Effective Timeout. But this may not prevent occasional test failures, because the element may be found by Ranorex, but because it's not entirely ready yet, the performed action (e.g. click) may be not performed as expected. In these cases, it's a good idea to add a short Delay action before the failing one. Manually added Delays are not ignored by Turbo Mode. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by krstcs » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:10 pm

As Pavel said, "Search Timeout" and "Delay" are two different things.

Search Timeout only tells Ranorex to "try to find the element for this amount of time and fail if it isn't found."

Delay tells Ranorex to "wait a specific amount of time before trying the next action."

Turbo mode removes all DELAYS, but it does not remove TIMEOUTS.


***YOU SHOULD NOT ADJUST TIMEOUTS UNLESS YOU KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE DOING***

Making Search Timeouts too short can cause the test to fail.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Shaifali
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Repository Search Timeout Vs Turbo Mode

Post by Shaifali » Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:31 pm

Thanks for explaining, found my answer in your reply :)