Request: Disable the "Topmost" setting on Ranorex Spy

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Request: Disable the "Topmost" setting on Ranorex Spy

Post by Ciege » Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:09 pm

Could you please disable the requirement for Ranorex Spy to be the topmost window when it is opened? It just gets in the way too much for me. When I have my AUT open and use SPY to find (for example) the name of a control I then want to tab over to Visual Studio to enter the control name into the appropriate line of code. However, Spy is still topmost (and usually covering the area of code I am working in) so I have to take just a little more time to go to the mouse and minimize Spy before I can do my work.

I know it seems petty, but when you have to do it over and over again it gets annoying.

Thanks...
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Request: Disable the "Topmost" setting on Ranorex Spy

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:04 pm

You are right, the "topmost" behavior might by annoying. :? That's why we'll provide a setting to enable/disable that behavior with the upcoming service release 2.1.2. The service release should be available next week.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Request: Disable the "Topmost" setting on Ranorex Spy

Post by Ciege » Mon Jun 22, 2009 5:33 pm

Thank you!

At least this is an easy one from me this time huh? :)
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Request: Disable the "Topmost" setting on Ranorex Spy

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:12 am

All of your inputs are welcome! We greatly depend on your feedback to make our product more useful and user-friendly. We try to satisfy customer needs as good and as soon as possible - however, that's much easier if the task is a rather small one :-)

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image