Run Application minimized

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
swmatisa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:52 am

Run Application minimized

Post by swmatisa » Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:16 am

WinXP SP3 (WindowsUpdate done)
Ranorex 3.1.0
*********************************
Hello,
I need to start an application "minimized". I see it is possible to "maximized", but not "minimized".
My workaround is to click on minimize button. Is there another way?

Thanks for you help.
SW

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run Application minimized

Post by Support Team » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:13 am

Hi,

There is no such functionality because we thought there is no need for it.
Why do you need to minimize your application, what is the sense of it?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

swmatisa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: Run Application minimized

Post by swmatisa » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:16 am

Support Team wrote:Why do you need to minimize your application, what is the sense of it?
Good question: my application under test is communicating and interacting with other applications and hardware systems. To start my test, I need to also start the "test environnement" in minimized mode.

It is a little bit like http://www.ranorex.com/forum/how-to-run ... t2520.html. Multi-Monitor and size managment will be an helpful improvement for a future release :wink:

Best regards
SW

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run Application minimized

Post by Support Team » Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:38 am

Hi,

You can use this CodeModule to run your application in minimized mode.
There are two variables which you can/have to set, the "Application" variable, the path to your exe (i.e. iexplore.exe) and the "Argument" variable for additional arguments (i.e. http://www.google.at).
You can bind them to global parameters.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
Attachments
StartApplicationMinimized.cs
(1.79 KiB) Downloaded 236 times
.
Image

swmatisa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: Run Application minimized

Post by swmatisa » Fri Sep 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Support Team wrote:You can use this CodeModule to run your application in minimized mode.
There are two variables which you can/have to set, the "Application" variable, the path to your exe (i.e. iexplore.exe) and the "Argument" variable for additional arguments (i.e. http://www.google.at).
Thanks for your code module. It si a good and simple sample of module.

Regards
SW