Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Ask general questions here.
skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:09 pm

Hi Team,

I HaVe one Wookbook witH Multiple WorkSeet and TestCases Arrange in a linear format
I want to run multiple iteration but eVerytimes it jumps to a Row 2 before finisHing row1 for all.


Please suggest

THank you,
Sunny KHanpara
Last edited by skhanpara on Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:25 pm

What i want is

Complete Row1 for all the testcases and the row 2 for all and so on

Is there any settings that need to be done for this?


Thank you

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by krstcs » Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:34 pm

Put all of your test cases inside another "Wrapper" test case and set the data connector to be on the wrapper instead of individual test cases.

So, instead of:

TC1 -> Data1
TC2 -> Data1
TC3 -> Data1

You have:

TC_WRAPPER -> Data1
----TC1
----TC2
----TC3


All test cases have access to all data connectors of all parents, so TC1, TC2 and TC3 will still be able to see Data1 because it is linked to their parent, TC_WRAPPER.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:55 pm

Currently, i am using nessted TC to do so but it does not reflect good on reports

i was thinking if you go a better way or setting where we can just define to run one iteration per TC in one flow

Thank you

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:31 am

Hello skhanpara,

Unfortunately, there is currently no other approach in order to run only a single iteration of a TestCase. The mentioned nested TestCase is the preferable way to depict such a scenario.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:53 pm

I try to nest all test cases and then copying all the recording in the last TC and was trying to run two iteration
But it started to Nest out Runing two iteration each test case

Pleas check the image


Please Suggest and its urgent so ASAP.

Thank you
Skhanapara
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (101.23 KiB) Viewed 888 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:10 am

Hello skhanpara,

Unfortunately, we are not exactly sure how your test behavior/structure should look like. May I ask you to explain it in more detail?

Additionally, we highly recommend re-designing your test structure since it seems to be very difficult to understand. In general, the structure of your test should be kept as simple as possible.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:23 pm

Hello,

Thanks for your reply

I have to build a report structure that is understandable.
So before this i build the TC Structure as follows
- One testcase per webPage(One excel sheet for entire script -> one worksheet per webpage).
There is lot of data Driven field so i need to divide it across worksheet.

There are 3 Environments to be tested: QA, Dev And ST which is running good
Scripts are working fine


Problem with the Script

- Run multiple iteration
Data is provide in the excel sheet but i run one TC multiple time before jumping to next TC
For Example: 1st TC is Login -> Datasheet provides 10 Login IDs in 10 Rows -> it will run Login for 10 times

What I want
- Run one iteration from each row of the worksheet before jumping to next one.

Thank you,
Sunny Khanpara

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:38 am

Hello skhanpara,

Thank you for the clarification.

The best way to achieve the mentioned behavior is to use a parent testcase (wrapper testcase) as above-mentioned from krstcs.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:54 pm

I am not able to do it

I did want he said create a Master TC

Master TC(bounded 1 Variable eg:- ename)
---> TC1(ename)
---> TC2(ename)
---> TC3(ename)

but as soon as it reaches TC1 it loops int to iteration 2 for TC1 before jumping to TC2

Thank you,
Skhanpara

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by krstcs » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:57 pm

Could you post an example that shows what you are actually doing in the test case?

It sounds like you are trying to bind data in both the MasterTC and the Child Test case, which will not work the way you want.

Ranorex loops each test case and all of its children (test cases and modules) over again for each record in the bound data set.

If you have:

Code: Select all

TC1 -> 3 rows
    TC2 -> 5 rows
    TC3 -> 1 row
Then TC1 will loop 3 times, TC2 will run 15 times total (5 times inside each TC1 loop) and TC3 will run 3 times total (1 time inside each TC1 loop).
Shortcuts usually aren't...

skhanpara
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by skhanpara » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:08 pm

Yes, that's whats going wrong.

I want to run one row each TC. I have tried all variation.

I have attached a Excel sheet which i am using to run the test Script.
Please take a look, it will give you a idea what i want to do.

Each worksheet is a new webpage/ TC.
For example: Login(Worksheet1) -> Followed by Search(Worksheet2)-> and so on,
Its a Policy creation Script and i cant include everything in one worksheet

What should i do to Create Multiple policy

Please Suggest:- It kind of Urgent so early respond will be Appreciated.

Thank you
Sunny Khanpara
Attachments
ACE_Auto.zip
(15.81 KiB) Downloaded 263 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run iteration one before jumping on row 2(DataDriVen)

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:54 am

Hello skhanpara,

As far as I understood your request correctly, you want to have a DataConnector with several rows for each TestCase. Only one iteration of each TestCase should be executed before continuing the iteration of all TestCases with the next row of their DataConnectors.

This is not possible. Each TestCase is designed to run all specified rows from the corresponding DataConnector.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image