Run multiple projects through powershell

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
barkha

Run multiple projects through powershell

Post by barkha » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:14 pm

Greetings.
I have created multiple Ranorex projects that cover different parts of our software. I would now like to run all projects sequentially using powershell whenever there is a new version. However, I am new to powershell and do not have a lot of experience. I want to know if someone has ever tried it before. Is there a way to tell powershell about test statistics ? will we have to go through all the reports manually.

McTurtle

Re: Run multiple projects through powershell

Post by McTurtle » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:44 pm

Hello barkha,

PowerShell can pick up the exit codes of applications. "0" means that the test was successful. "-1" would mean that the test has failed. You would then have to check all the reports for the tests where the exit code was not "0".

Furthermore, PowerShell can also wait for the application to exit before starting a new one.

The following example would start one test, then give you the information if the test has exited and than tell you the exit code of the test. After that, it would do the same for the 2nd test:

$process = Start-Process "C:\Users\username\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\xxx\bin\Debug\xxx.exe" -NoNewWindow -Wait -PassThru
$process.HasExited
$process.ExitCode
$process = Start-Process "C:\Users\username\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\yyy\bin\Debug\yyy.exe" -NoNewWindow -Wait -PassThru
$process.HasExited
$process.ExitCode

I found the part with the exit codes here: PowerShell: How to get exit code of a process

Depending on the exit code you could then implement an "if" sentence that would copy the last report to some other folder if the exit code was anything other but "0". You would then have already all the failed reports in a special folder.