Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Bug reports.
mbn
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am

Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by mbn » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:52 am

Dear Ranorex

When I run our Ranorex TestSuite via TeamCity on a remote server, I get error after starting:
[TestSuite]: This operation requires an interactive window station

Due you know what is going on and maybe how to fix it?

The full log is listed below.
OS: WS 2016 Standard x64

09:21:57]Step 5/6: Run the automatic tests (Command Line) (10s)
[09:21:57][Step 5/6] Starting: C:\BuildAgent\work\759880d240384d\AtpUdkAutomaticTests\AtpUdkAutomaticTests\bin\Debug\AtpUdkAutomaticTests.exe /ts /zr /zrf:Reports/Report.rxzlog
[09:21:57][Step 5/6] in directory: C:\BuildAgent\work\759880d240384d
[09:22:05][Step 5/6] [2019/07/11 09:22:05.667][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger starting.
[09:22:07][Step 5/6] [2019/07/11 09:22:07.114][Failure][TestSuite]: This operation requires an interactive window station
[09:22:08][Step 5/6] [2019/07/11 09:22:08.243][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger stopping.
[09:22:08][Step 5/6] Process exited with code -1
[09:22:08][Step 5/6] Process exited with code -1 (Step: Run the automatic tests (Command Line))
[09:22:08][Step 5/6] Step Run the automatic tests (Command Line) failed[language=][/language]

Best regards Magnus

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5066
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by odklizec » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:17 am

Hi,

This error sounds like if the test is started on agent, which is running as a windows service? This is a big "nono", because Ranorex requires realized desktop. Check this TeamCity integration blog post, how to properly start TC build agent:
https://www.ranorex.com/blog/integratin ... ess/#agent
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mbn
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by mbn » Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:55 am

It is correct that the Windows service was set to automatic :)

This is now disabled. But still getting the same error.

Read the link and saw to start the Teamcity build agent yourself.
".binagent start"

My Teamcity step for running Ranorex(commandline) is configured like this:
Command executable: bin\Debug\projectEXE.exe
Command parameters: /ts /zr /zrf:Reports/Report.rxzlog

Are I'm missing a step before my running step(as shown above) or do i need to added somthing to my Command executable of the bin\Debug\projectEXE.exe?

miljan
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:53 pm

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by miljan » Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:58 am

Hi there,

We are facing the same issue as above. We are using Azure DevOps, previous version of Ranorex (9.0.1) was working properly, after upgrading it to 9.1.1. we have this problem. Does anybody have any idea how can we solve this?

[2019/07/29 07:00:51.278][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger starting.
[2019/07/29 07:00:51.356][Failure][TestSuite]: This operation requires an interactive window station
[2019/07/29 07:00:51.497][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger stopping.

Thank You in advance.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11963
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:58 am

Hello everyone,

We are in contact with Miljan directly. Until now we did not resolve this issue, but we continue to work on it.
The customers environment is a bit specific.

If anyone needs this thread updated, please post and we will update the thread with our findings.

Sincerely,
Tomaž
.
Image

mbn
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by mbn » Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:01 am

I will be very interested in how this is going and hoping for updates :D

mbn
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by mbn » Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:02 am

Forgot to add my versions of Ranorex where the problem occurred.
It's 9.1.0

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11963
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Run TestSuite remote server gives - This operation requires an interactive window station

Post by Support Team » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:08 am

Hello mbn,

we found out that the error goes away when running the agent as a process and not as a service. Ranorex actually never supported running agents for interactive tests as services. The reason for this is that these services normally can't interact with the UI of an AUT. However, in some cases UI interaction is not required, for example, when the test is only interacting with a Selenium server. I am currently checking with our developers if we implemented some changes that are causing this error in Ranorex 9.1 where it previously did not appear with Ranorex 9.0.

Just setting the service to disabled does not stop the service. You need to disable it, stop it and then start the TeamCity Agent manually. Also, try if it makes a difference when you start the agent manually with administrator rights.

I will update this thread when I have more info from our developers.

Sincerely,
Tomaž
.
Image