Running as an Ordered Test

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
theraviz
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:46 am

Running as an Ordered Test

Post by theraviz » Mon Oct 05, 2020 7:28 am

Hello,

I want to select test cases from different test suite and run it together as an ordered test.

Eg I have Test Suites A with test cases A1, A2, A3, A4

Test Suite B with test cases B1, B2, B3, B4 and

Test Suite C with test cases C1, C2, C3, C4

These test suites belongs to different projects under the same solution.

Now I want too execute A1, B3, C4 test cases together as an ordered test. How is this possible?

As I undertood, grouping can be made prossible only in the same test suite and project.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6263
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running as an Ordered Test

Post by odklizec » Mon Oct 05, 2020 8:03 am

Hi,

I don't know anything about Ordered Tests. But as for starting test cases from different tests suites, it should not be a problem? You just have to call them with appropriate command line parameters, as described here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... containers
For example, like this:

Code: Select all

TestName.exe /ts:TestSuite_1.rxtst /tc:TestCase_A 
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

theraviz
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:46 am

Re: Running as an Ordered Test

Post by theraviz » Mon Oct 05, 2020 8:07 am

odklizec wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 8:03 am
Hi,

I don't know anything about Ordered Tests. But as for starting test cases from different tests suites, it should not be a problem? You just have to call them with appropriate command line parameters, as described here:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... containers
For example, like this:

Code: Select all

TestName.exe /ts:TestSuite_1.rxtst /tc:TestCase_A 
OK, thank you :)