Running from a command line

Ask general questions here.
cmkforce
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:18 pm

Running from a command line

Post by cmkforce » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:27 pm

OS: Win 7, Service pack1
Ranorex Ver: 4.1.1.15872
.Net Runtime Ver: 4.0.30319.18052

I am trying to setup Ranorex to run from a command prompt with the intention of kicking of testing automatically. When trying to do a basic help command I get the following:


D:\svnViews\QA\Ranorex\HealthCheck\HealthCheck\HealthCheck\bin\Debug>HealthCheck.exe /help

Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Ranorex.Core,
Version=3.0.5.13548, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b798506b574ebc9a' or one of its dependencies.
The system cannot find the file specified.
at HealthCheck.Program.Main(String[] args)

D:\svnViews\QA\Ranorex\HealthCheck\HealthCheck\HealthCheck\bin\Debug>

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running from a command line

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:47 pm

Hi,
Is D: a local drive or a network drive? Maybe you have an permission issue.
When open this solution in Ranorex Studio, are you able to execute the Testsuite?
You use Ranorex 4.1.1 but the version of the Ranorex.Core dll is 3.0.5. Have you tried to update the dll to the latest version?

Regards,
Larissa
Ranorex Support
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running from a command line

Post by krstcs » Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:33 pm

My guess would be that you are running the test on a different machine than it was built on, and you haven't upgraded the Ranorex runtime on the test system to 4.1.1.

Also, it is a best practice to run the Ranorex tests from a local drive on the test system, not a network share, due to run-time linking of dynamic libraries.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

cmkforce
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:18 pm

Re: Running from a command line

Post by cmkforce » Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:38 pm

D: is a local drive so there are no permission issues. I was trying to access the help in this situatiuon but will eventually like to launch the test from my local machine and run them on a server. I will update the dll and see if that clears things up. I can run test through Ranorex with no issues.