Running on IE is very slow now

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:02 pm

The IE option is well unchecked.
I tried your button but it is the same.

So I uninstalled IE11 and came back to IE10. With IE10 it is as fast as before. I installed IE11 and it becomes again very slow... The problem is probably IE11 but ... why?
I am the only one who deals with this issue?

I work on Win7 64bits professional.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by krstcs » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:17 pm

No, you aren't the only one, but my issues are slightly different than yours, except for the very slow exectution.

I've got a couple of threads in the bug section dealing with the fact that there are issues with the Ranorex plugin's integration in IE11. We've had to stopped testing with Ranorex on IE11 because Ranorex is so slow that my tests don't finish in the allotted time.

So, you aren't alone...
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:58 am

Hello all,

Our QA team tried to reproduce the issue with IE11, but could not see any performance issues.
My I ask if you can also reproduce the issue using the "VIP Web Test Sample" which can be opened using the Ranorex Start Page in Ranorex Studio?
VIPWebTest.jpg
VIPWebTest.jpg (44.68 KiB) Viewed 2101 times
If you cannot reproduce the issue with our sample we would need a sample solution in order to reproduce the issue on our machines.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by krstcs » Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:38 pm

Bernhard,

I sent my solution to support in response to another thread, about 3 weeks ago. Perhaps you could take a look at it? It was in regards to post 25225, sent on 10 Apr.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:15 pm

Hi,

I have the same perfomance issues with the sample you showed.
I attached a sample of my test suite.
LDLC.zip
(349.45 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
It simply open the browser, create an account and close the browser.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Fri May 02, 2014 10:15 am

Hello all,

@Florian: Thank you for the project. I have forwarded it to our QA team and they will analyze it as soon as possible.

@krstcs: Thank you, we have already tried to reproduce the issue using your solution, but unfortunately you are using RanorexPaths which cannot be resolved on your public website. I have also tried to create a new test, but in my case I could not see any performance issues.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Tue May 06, 2014 3:25 pm

Hello all,

Our QA team was able to reproduce the issue on our machines. They want to make sure that they are on the right track and would need a Ranorex Snapshot file for some additional information.
Can you please post a snapshot file from your application?
If you don't want to post the snapshot here in the forum you can also send it to [email protected].
Thank you.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Tue May 06, 2014 3:38 pm

Oh! Great news if you could reproduce the issue! :)
Not to make any mistake, what is exactly a snapchot?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Wed May 07, 2014 6:57 am

Hi Florian,

A Ranorex snapshot file is a XML file containing graphic and UI structure information of your application.
A detailed description how to create a Ranorex Snapshot file can be found at the section "Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files" on our user guide.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Wed May 07, 2014 8:53 am

Hi,

I found where the problem is!
It's the "private" thing that causes the issue...

I have this piece of code:

Code: Select all

Host.Local.OpenBrowser(TestSuite.Current.Parameters["site"], browser, "-private", false, true);
If I remove the "-private" argument, it works perfectly.

Furthermore with Ranorex Spy and private navigation, when I browse another subdomain, there are two DOM! It must be the thing that slows down the test. There is only one DOM with Firefox and Chrome.
ranorex_IE11_public.PNG
With "public" navigation
ranorex_IE11_public.PNG (81.66 KiB) Viewed 2046 times
ranorex_IE11_private.PNG
with "private" navigation
ranorex_IE11_private.PNG (83.68 KiB) Viewed 2046 times
When I try to create a snapshot file, I write the name and click 'Save' but it doesn't work. I've just waited many minutes and nothing saved for IE. I can create a snapshot of the Desktop or StikyNot, but not IE :?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Fri May 09, 2014 12:18 pm

Hi Florian,

Thank you for the information.
I think it is no longer necessary to post a Ranorex Snapshot file. Our development team is already working on a fix for that issue. Unfortunately you have to disable the protected mode in the meantime.
Thank you for your help and for reporting the issue.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Mon May 12, 2014 4:17 pm

Hello all,

A new bug fix version (5.0.3) was released today. This version includes a fix for the performance issue in Internet Explorer 11. You can also find all fixes on our release notes.

Concerning the performance issue when Internet Explorer is started in private mode you have to disable the setting "Disable toolbars and extensions when InPrivate Browsing starts" within the "Privacy" tab on the "Internet Options" dialog as shown in the image below. If you do so Internet Explorer is able to load the Ranorex plugin and the performance issue should no longer exists.
DisableExtensionSetting.jpg
DisableExtensionSetting.jpg (133.77 KiB) Viewed 2021 times
Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Mon May 12, 2014 4:27 pm

Great! Good news :)
Will try this release this week.

I will come back to you soon.

Many thanks!

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Tue May 13, 2014 8:14 am

Yes! It seems to work well right now :)
I've just installed release 5.0.3 and it does not wait too long for each action.

Thank you very much :)

KennyLewis
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by KennyLewis » Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:52 pm

Make sure that the add-on has been enabled again.

I upgraded and the add-on got disabled. It was causing long search times before I re-enabled it.