Running on IE is very slow now

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:33 am

Hi,

I was used to work on Ranorex 4.1.4 until today. I've just upgraded to Ranorex 5.0.1
I have a test suite running of Firefox, IE and Chrome.
The Firefox run is the same, no problem.

But the IE run is very very slower :(
Ranorex takes 5 to 10 seconds to find an element by its #id instead of milliseconds with the previous release.

I work on IE11 on both releases.
Do you encounter the same issue?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by krstcs » Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:17 pm

What operating system and version are you using?

Are you getting any errors in the report? Especially anything about "GetChildLineageFromUID"?

I have been getting these with Windows7/IE11 and my runtimes are very very slow on that configuration as well. However, my problems with this started in 4.1.0 so yours may not be the same.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:49 pm

I am using Windows 7 Pro.

I don't have any errors, just the same warning as before sometimes:
Item 'ldlcV3Repository.LDLC.Franchise.choixBoutique.lnk_Rhone' could be found using its absolute path, but not using its relative path from the cached element of parent folder 'ldlcV3Repository.LDLC.Franchise.choixBoutique'. This can happen if either the item search timeout is too small or if items within a rooted folder do not share a common parent element. To fix this problem, first increase the item search timeout. If this does not help, create a separate rooted folder for this item or disable caching for the specified folder.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:20 pm

Hi Florian,

The warning is the reason why it takes longer.
The message means that you have rooted folders with the Use Cache property set to true and the problem here is that the RxPath of the rooted folders are not unique and you therefore have the longer search times.
To overcome the issue you just need to copy the absolute path of the two folders "...Ink_Rhone" and "Ink_Lyon9" to Ranorex Spy.
Now please navigate to the specific element in your application and check if Ranorex Spy can find more than one element using the specific RxPath of the folders.
If so please edit the RxPath to make it unique again.
If there is just one element it seems that there was another element with the same RxPath in another view/state of your application which got cached. To overcome this you can also try to edit the RxPath or just set the Use Cache property of the rooted folder to false.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:23 pm

I might nt be as clear as I thought.
I have only few warning, but I have them for many months. The real issue right now is the Test Suite is very slow since the version 5 of Ranorex but on each action with IE.
Just have a look on both screenshots: the first one on Firefox, the second one on IE (look at timestamps):

Image
11 seconds for those actions
Image
more than 3 minutes for the same actions! And they are only "set value" actions.

Hope you understand better what I mean :)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:30 pm

Hi Florian,

Thanks for clarification :)!
May I ask you to check if the Ranorex Plugin is enabled in Internet Explorer and if you use the 32 bit version of Internet Explorer?

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:09 pm

Hi,

The Ranorex Plugin is enabled, but I don't know if I am using 32 bit or 64 bit version of IE. When I click on "About" there is no mention of the version.
I am using IE11 on Windows 7 Pro 64 bits, so I guess IE use the 64 bits version.

Image

For the Ranorex Plugin:

Code: Select all

Nom                     Ranorex.Plugin.TridentIpc.RanorexAddon
Éditeur                 Ranorex GmbH
État                    Activé
Architecture            32 bits
Date du fichier         ‎mercredi ‎19 ‎mars ‎2014, ‏‎09:49
Version                 5.0.1.17706
Durée de chargement     0,17 s


User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:44 pm

Hi,

Please make sure you run the 32 bit version of Internet Explorer because our add-on just runs for the 32 bit version of IE.
You can open the task manager to verify if the IE process is a 32 or a 64 bit one.
If you see the process named "iexplorer *32" then you run the right one.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:59 pm

I think I don't have the choice ... In the Start Menu I don't have anymore IE*32 and IE*64 like I had with IE9
But when I launch IE, both are in the task manager!
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:05 pm

Hi,

What happens when you directly start IE form the following directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by krstcs » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:27 pm

I believe IE 11 starts a base process that is x64, which is the controller. The windows/tabs are all x86.

This happens no matter which .exe file is loaded (I just tried using the "Program Files (x86)" version).

So, we have no way of forcing IE 11 to be just x86 on a 64-bit OS.

Markus, could this be what is causing the problems with slowness and the Lineage exceptions?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:29 pm

It is really really weird ..... But maybe you'll understand that very well! :)
Here the fact:

> When I launch my whole scenario from the .exe file or directly from Ranorex Studio, it opens the browser and do the actions. In this case, it is really really slow.
> When I first launch the browser and then execute only one module, it is as fast as before, on the previous version of Ranorex!

Do you have any idea of what could be the issue?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 11, 2014 12:53 pm

Hi Florian,

May I ask you to check the following?
Open your IE and then open the Internet Options window click on the Security tab and make sure that the Protected Mode is disabled:
ProtectedMode.png
ProtectedMode.png (50.19 KiB) Viewed 2422 times
then switch to the Advanced tab and make sure the Enable Enhanced Protected Mode* checkbox is also unchecked:
Advanced.png
Advanced.png (48.27 KiB) Viewed 2422 times
Now open the properties of your Ranorex project and click on the compiling tab and select 32-bit as Target CPU. As IE is a 32 bit application it is also recommended to work with a 32 bit test.

now start your test with Ranorex Studio and please inform me if it is now as fast as before.

@krstcs: I don't think that this has something to do with the slowness but I am not sure about the Lineage exception because we haven't found the cause of the problem yet.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Florian » Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:36 pm

Thanks Markus for your answer.
I unchecked the first box but it is not better. Always slow.
ranorex_settings.PNG
ranorex_settings.PNG (29.89 KiB) Viewed 2421 times
Here is my project settings.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Running on IE is very slow now

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:08 pm

Hi Florian,
Have you also unchecked the option “Enable Enhanced Protected Mode” in the Advanced tab?
Can you also try to run your tests without attached debugger by selecting this button?
WithoutDebugger.jpg
WithoutDebugger.jpg (9.81 KiB) Viewed 2405 times
Please let me know if this solves the problem.
Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image