Running tests on local and remote machine at same time

Ask general questions here.
ziasim
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:03 pm

Running tests on local and remote machine at same time

Post by ziasim » Wed May 25, 2016 4:10 pm

Hi,

If i have two tests under a run configuration RunTests. I wish to run first test case on remote machine and second test case on local machine using RunTests run configuration.

Is it possible by any means?

Actually my problem is I am automating installation testing of our product. We wish to revert machine snapshot to freash state after executing any installation scenario so we can execute next test case on fresh machine state.

I created single run configuration for all installation test cases. I added power shell script (I used it to revert remote VM snapshot) after every test case so once an installation test case executed on remote machine, my power shell script should start execution on local machine to revert VM snapshot on which I just did installation.

Our ultimate objective is to automate whole process as much as possible with as less as human intervention. On an abstract level we want

- Install our software
- Do some sanity testing
- Revert machine snapshot to fresh state
- Execute next installation test case

Any better idea to achieve this goal...? :roll:

Thanks

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Running tests on local and remote machine at same time

Post by Martin » Thu May 26, 2016 12:05 pm

I would also consider using Continues Intergration solutions such as Jenkins.

Jenkins can manage multiple environments + you can actually trigger different builds when a specific build has finished. Eg:

1) Fresh install on VM > When finished, trigger next specified job
2) Sanity test > When finished, trigger next specified job etc.

Grouping all this functionality together under a single test (and run configuration) makes the solution in my opinion quite unstable and handleing errors quite complicated.

By the way, Jenkins is free.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running tests on local and remote machine at same time

Post by krstcs » Thu May 26, 2016 1:29 pm

I would agree with Martin. Use a real CI tool (...and did he mention that Jenkins is free??? :D ) and it's much easier.
Shortcuts usually aren't...