Running the same test on two devices

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
kieranwood
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:31 pm

Running the same test on two devices

Post by kieranwood » Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:12 pm

Hi all,

I was wondering if it should be possible to record a test on a iPhone and then play the recording back on an iPad, changing the device at the start of the test case (from the drop down).

The same app is installed on both devices and each device is played to separately.

---

I have installed the same app on both devices and recorded on an iPhone and played back on the iPad but it fails because a menu appears to be different, when in fact they are the same.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running the same test on two devices

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:35 pm

Hi,

It surely is possible to run the same test on multiple devices. The best is to use data-driven approach. Take a look at this post:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... evice.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

kieranwood
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Running the same test on two devices

Post by kieranwood » Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:38 pm

Hi there,

I have done this by manually changing the device at the top of the script and it is failing.

I am using the Keypass app and the menu for adding a new Group or Entry is being detected differently between the iPhone recording and the iPad playback.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running the same test on two devices

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:49 pm

OK, so you are dealing with the problem where the xpaths are different between the devices (iPhone/iPad). In this case, you will have to find/optimize the paths to make them recognizable on both devices. It's quite similar to testing webs with different web browsers. There is unfortunately no other (automatic) way than to optimize the paths to make them working on both devices.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration