Running the test case 100 times

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
singra
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:11 am

Running the test case 100 times

Post by singra » Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:15 am

Hi,

I am new to Ranorex. I have created a test case and it has 80 recordings under it. I want to run this whole test case 100 times..i.e. once the execution of the 80 recordings is complete it starts again until 100 iterations are over. How should i achieve it. Thanks for your help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running the test case 100 times

Post by odklizec » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:56 am

Hi,

I think the easiest (and most recommended) way is to use data driven approach. All you need to do is to create a simple data connector with 100 rows. For more details, check for example this post...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/repeating- ... tml#p28814

I'm sure you will find data connectors pretty useful also with many other scenarios. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

singra
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:11 am

Re: Running the test case 100 times

Post by singra » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:13 pm

Thanks for the reply.I can create 100 rows but for some scenarios i might have to run it 1000 times. is there a better way to do it as compared to creating 1000 rows. Please advise. Thanks for your reply.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Running the test case 100 times

Post by krstcs » Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:03 pm

You can always nest your test cases. You can use 2 data sets with 10/100 rows, or 3 data sets with 10 rows each. As long as the multiply out to 1000, you will get 100 runs, assuming you don't need actual data in the rows.

TestSuite
....TestCase1 => DataSet1 (10 rows)
........TestCase2 => DataSet2 (10 rows)
............TestCase3 => DataSet3 (10 rows)
................Recording1 => Will run 10*10*10 times = 1000 runs.


Test cases with data connections are essentially just for-each loops. The run once "for each" row in the data set that is bound to them.
Shortcuts usually aren't...