Running two desktop apps at the same time.

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Sanuwar
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:19 pm

Running two desktop apps at the same time.

Post by Sanuwar » Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:34 pm

I have two interdependent desktop apps running at the same time. Once I open the first app, the other one gets open all by itself. Sometimes, I am required to click on certain element on the second app to keep working on the first app. The problem is that spy tool can not catch the element of second app. The Spy tool may generate a RanorexPath; however, the RanorexPath does not work or trace the element. My first question is that why it happens. Is there any limitation in Ranorex that hinders its ability to manage two exe files at the same time. Second, if the first question is relevant, what is the way around you can suggest me. Thanks in advance.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running two desktop apps at the same time.

Post by odklizec » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:15 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, it's impossible to tell what's wrong, without seeing, at very least, xpaths of problematic elements and corresponding snapshots (NOT screenshots) of both apps. Could you please post both xpaths and snapshots? Ideally, post also entire Ranorex report with failure.

Generally speaking, Ranorex definitely does not have a problem with tracking elements in two individual apps, as long as the xpaths behind the elements are unique and precise enough. Also, make sure that both apps are listed in Ranorex whitelist! And finally, make sure you are using most recent Ranorex version (9.3.3) and not something obsolete ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Sanuwar
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Running two desktop apps at the same time.

Post by Sanuwar » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:44 pm

Hi, Odklizec,

I am attaching snapshots from two different desktop apps. While the Inifinity app goes fine with Ranorex, Genesis takes unusually long time once I try to record the Rxpath in repository. Once I run the test, everything goes well with Infinity; however, when a step (i.e. mouse click on an element) needs to execute on Genesis, the test does not proceed further as the element is not tracked.

I look forward to hearing from you.

//Sanuwar
Attachments
InfinitySnapshot.rxsnp
(125.93 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
GenesisSnapshot.rxsnp
(2.45 MiB) Downloaded 3 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running two desktop apps at the same time.

Post by odklizec » Mon Sep 21, 2020 7:27 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, I can't tell you why recording in Genesis app takes so long or why the elements are not tracked? Apparently, the Genesis app is way larger and more complex than the Infinity app. From the snapshot it looks that it uses a lot of WPF and DevExpress controls, which could be the reason. These controls tends to be complicated and not always automation friendly.

Have you tried to play with WPF-related settings in Ranorex? Which WPF plugin do you use? A most recommended WPF plugin is WPFImprovedOnly. If you are using this plugin, then try different one. Also, try to disable Show all elements and Realize items in virtualizing containers options. However, disabling these options could have bad effect on tracking certain elements in list/combo boxes or tree elements.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration