Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Ask general questions here.
Polariteit
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:54 am

Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Post by Polariteit » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:13 am

Hi there,

The webapplication under test is going to migrate to MS Edge (chromium) later this year, so I'm investigating how our testscripts are running on the new Edge browser.

When running a usercode module to start the browser and go to a login-page of our app; than Edge fails to find the fields on screen to enter the username and password. The browser is started and opens the correct URL, but then it stops and nothing happens.

The EDGE-plugin is installed and activated. When I do the same test, but with IE11 or Chrome, then it succeeds in finding the fields and continues.

Do you have any suggestions?

Edge version: Versie 81.0.416.53
Win10
Ranorex 9.3.1

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6181
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Post by odklizec » Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:21 am

Hi,

Have you tried to manually track an element with Ranorex Spy? Does it work (Spy should track the element and xpath should start with DOM)?

Also, have you added Edge to Ranorex white list?
Whitelist.png
Whitelist.png (5.55 KiB) Viewed 338 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

carloagiletester
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Post by carloagiletester » Thu May 28, 2020 2:07 pm

I am having the same issue here. It opens the browser. But Ranorex Spy does not see any the Domain entry.
I whitelisted Edge(Chromium), but that did not make any difference.
Version 9.3.1 and windows server 2019 standard 1809

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6181
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Post by odklizec » Fri May 29, 2020 8:19 am

Hi,

If Spy don't see DOM element in browser, then there may be two reasons:
- not installed Ranorex plugin
- corrupted Ranorex plugin
Are you sure there is installed Ranorex plugin in your instance of Chromium based Edge?
If plugin is installed, but Spy still don;t see DOM, the plugin integration is most probably corrupted. In this case, you should try to uninstall it via Instrumentation wizard and then install it back.
BTW, make sure Edge is not running in background after closing its window! This is a default Edge/Chrome behavior and it must be turned off before installing/uninstalling Ranorex plugin. Go to browser's settings and search for "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome/Edge is closed" and uncheck it.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Polariteit
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:54 am

Re: Running with Edge(Chromium) not working

Post by Polariteit » Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:02 am

I'm sorry about the late response, but it finally worked. The solutio Odklizec about reinstalling the extension through the instrumentation wizard did the trick. You have to deinstall and install the extension through the wizard, otherwise it won't work.

Thanks guys!