Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
BCTest
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Post by BCTest » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:05 am

Hi,
I'm pretty sure that I'd found a forum entry explaining how to change the default error behavior in a test solution in the past. But nowerdays I don't find this post any more. :?
By default any testcase will continue with the next sibling element in case of failure. How can I change the default behavior für failed testcases in a solution? For example I want the whole test to stop or to continue with the next parent element.

Regards,
BcTest

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5163
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:26 am

Hi,

I guess you are looking for this?...
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... orbehavior
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

BCTest
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Post by BCTest » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:18 pm

Hi,

yes, this is the setting I meant.
And I remember that the default behavior can be changed from "continue with sibling" to e.g. "continue with parent". So any new test case in a solution will get this setting instead of "continue with sibling". Do you know where this default value for new test cases can be changed for a solution?

Regards,
BcTest

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5163
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:37 pm

Hi,

I believe there is currently no way to set a new default Error behavior via UI? But you may find useful this post:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12458&p=49825#p49900
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

BCTest
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Rx9: Change standard behavior for failed tests

Post by BCTest » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:11 pm

Hi odklizec,

indeed?
There is no possibility to change the default error behavior in Ranorex Studio at design time?
No control, no switch? :shock:
I was absolutely convinced I've read about it. I even don't need to change it at runtime, setting it (for all new test cases) at design time would be sufficient.

Thanks for your efforts.

Regards,
BcTest