rxlog: Jump to item

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
Kikkaha
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:39 pm

rxlog: Jump to item

Post by Kikkaha » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:22 am

Hello

I want to use the "Jump to item" in a rxlog. (Ranorex Version 6.2.1)
After the klick onto the link I get the following message.

"Item location was not found in this reportfile. This is usually caused by missing debug information (.pdb) files.
If you are using a release build, please enable output of debug information in the Project Settings"

I think I searched anywhere in the Ranorex-Settings but i am not able to find the correct location.

What is exactly to do for switching on the "Jump to item".
A step by step guide would be great.

thx a lot
Kikkaha

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: rxlog: Jump to item

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:55 am

Hi,

"Jump to item" works only if the solution is compiled in Debug mode. You see, in release mode, there are not generated debug (pdb) files during build. And so there is no way to jump to specific line of code. But I believe it should be possible to build Release exe, with attached pdb files? Just check the project Compiling properties, where you can set Debug info options.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Kikkaha
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:39 pm

Re: rxlog: Jump to item

Post by Kikkaha » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:09 pm

Thx for the answer....but
the same message occurs

Current situation in my 6.2.1 Version of Ranorex
1. Menu-Bar --> Project --> Project Options
2. Changed "Configuration" from Release to Debug
3. Settings
General: DEBUG; Trace // Optimize Code = no flag // Allow unsafe Code = no flag // Check for arithmetic overflow.... = flag // Do not reference msccorlib.dll = no flag

Output: a path is available // XML documentation = flag and a path...Filename.xml // Debug Info: Only .pdb files (I tried "Full debug information" also) // Target framework: .NET Framework 4.0

because it is boring do write down all the other fields here only the settings without the fieldnames
--> Auto -> 32-bit Intel.... --> 4096 -->

two fields with an output-path

and Warning Level = 4

Have a nice day
Kikkaha

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: rxlog: Jump to item

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:17 pm

OK, so the option "Jump to item" most probably works only with full debug EXE? Honestly, I've never tried to compile the release exe with attached debug info ;)

BTW, I just tried it in my project, and it seems there must be enabled "Full debug information" instead of "Only pdb files". Then the Jump to item works also with Release exe.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Kikkaha
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:39 pm

Re: rxlog: Jump to item

Post by Kikkaha » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:32 pm

---
---
Serverrestart

°° a reboot helps anytime ;-)

Now it is working as well:-)

THX a lot
Kikkaha