.rxtst file references all other projects in solution?

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
jasoncleo

.rxtst file references all other projects in solution?

Post by jasoncleo » Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:03 am

This is sort of related to a topic just posted a few days ago:
ranorex.com/forum/how-to-change-the-reference-path-in-rxtst-file-t8021.html
But my question is slightly different.

I'm fairly new to Ranorex, and we've taken the approach of having a single Ranorex solution, with multiple projects in it. The solution contains the tests related to the one development application.

We're using Ranorex 5.3.0, on Win7.

Some of the projects are supporting class libraries, providing API facilities, audio control, etc etc. Some projects are collections of abstraction classes to isolate general UI screens.

Finally we have test suite projects for various features/scenarios we want to test, where the test suite project groups the test cases related to a feature/scenario.

The issue:
We have observed that the rxtst files for a project will include references to the output assembly of all other projects, regardless of whether the current test suite uses any elements from those projects. Even if the test suite project doesn't have a reference to a given project, the problem is that the rxtst will have a reference to it. And the reference will be a relative path, based on the compile environment

Like the linked topic post, when we deploy to a test runtime environment, we copy all our binaries to a single folder, so that Jenkins can just trigger the test case executables. But the beginning of the test cases is filled with log messages about not finding various binaries, because we're no longer in that build folder structure.

The log messages don't affect the actual test execution, which still runs fine. But it is quite annoying and i don't see the point.