Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
reiniuny
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:48 am

Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by reiniuny » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:45 am

Hello,
it seems, that the GDI capture list/configuration isn't saved inside the solution. As I see it is saved somewhere locally within general/global Ranorex settings.

In my opinion these settings should be saved somewhere in the ranorex repository or the project/solution as the repository depends on these settings.

Is this behaviour intended by you - if yes, could you explain me why or if there is an option to save the GDI capture list in the ranorex project?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by Support Team » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:19 pm

Hello,

Yes that's correct. The settings are saved in the RanorexConfig4.xml file which can be found within the directory "C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming" on your machine.

It is possible to export and import the settings using the global settings dialog.
Please take a look at the section "General Ranorex Settings" in our user guide in order to get a detailed description how to export the global settings.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

reiniuny
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:48 am

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by reiniuny » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:29 pm

For me this fact is a problem, as I'm developing on my machine and then commiting the test suite to SVN. An other computer then checks out the test suite and runs the tests.

In this case the GDI Capture List isn't transferred to the other computer.

Is it planned to include the list into the test suite or how is your solution for this issue? Manually exporting the settings and transferring them to the other computer doesn't seem to be an suitable workflow as these settings do have to be in an other folder as the test suite itself.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 07, 2013 3:07 pm

Hello,

Unfortunately it is not planned to change this in the near future, but I will add a feature request in our bug tracking system and we will discuss this internally.
Would it be a workaround to include the *.config file to the SVN file list and check it out on the other computer?
Another possibility is to use XCOPY deployment. Please read the following post in our forum which handles a similar issue.
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/using-rawt ... t2877.html

You can also add process and class names during the runtime using a small code snippet as shown in the following post:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/gdi-plugin ... html#p8522

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

reiniuny
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:48 am

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by reiniuny » Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:50 am

OK, I think the best solution for me is to add the class names during runtime, so I can ensure, that the full configuration is available without the need of manual steps.

Pawel
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by Pawel » Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:59 pm

I agree. We also commit our solution to TFS and have our automated build machines check out the solution, compile, and execute the tests. Having a GDI settings file that must be copied over is a real annoyance and causes failing tests when not done.

mcmilj1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by mcmilj1 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:09 am

The link to "General Ranorex Settings" gives page not found :(

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:46 pm

Hello,

Thank you for your information.
I have updated the link to 'General Ranorex Settings'.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by carsonw » Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:22 pm

Pawel wrote:I agree. We also commit our solution to TFS and have our automated build machines check out the solution, compile, and execute the tests. Having a GDI settings file that must be copied over is a real annoyance and causes failing tests when not done.
We have our settings checked into source control. When a test runs, it "pulls" all the data from our source control so the runs always have the latest version.

We updated our script to pull the settings file and place it in the appropriate directory. Now we don't have to worry about it.

Maybe a similar solution will work for you :)

MikeV
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:01 pm

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by MikeV » Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:56 pm

I am also trying to move the GDI settings from one computer to another. We had Ranorex Studio 4, and have since upgraded to 5.0.3. However, I cannot find a file named RanorexConfig4.xml, or RanorexConfig5.xml in "C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\Ranorex4" or "C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\Ranorex5". (System is Windows 7.) I have looked in other likely Ranorex files in other locations, but can't find those settings. Could they have been moved when upgrading from Ranorex 4 to Ranorex 5? In what file or registry setting should I look for the GDI settings in Ranorex 5.0.3?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Save GDI Capture List in Solution/Project

Post by odklizec » Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:51 am

Hi Mike,

RanorexConfig4.xml/RanorexConfig5.xml can be found directly in C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming. You tried to search at very logical and obvious place but the file is placed one level up ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration