Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
PBMax
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:42 pm

Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by PBMax » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:41 am

I'm using the Ranorex API in Visual Studio 2015 with Ranorex 8.2. When my test passes or fails my test cleanup runs and I always gets screenshots in the report. EnableTracingScreenshots is enabled and I didn't set the number of screenshots so I think the default is 3. Why am I getting screenshots in my teardown? I noticed in one test that there was an exception that was caught we log Info and Warning messages. We are also using Host.Local.TryFindSingle to find specific objects in test cleanup. I don't believe that code is supposed to capture a screenshot if it returns false.
                TestReport.BeginTestContainerTeardown();
                TestReport.BeginTestModule("Cleanup");
                //Code to close app
                Ranorex.Report.Info("Application Closed Successfully");
                TestReport.EndTestModule();
                TestReport.EndTestContainerTeardown();

PBMax
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:42 pm

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by PBMax » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:59 pm

I ran a larger test and it looks like the last 3 screenshots are attached for each module. I'm not sure if this is due to the first failure or not in the test suite. Is there API documentation that gives a little detail as to how this feature works?

User avatar
qwertzu
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by qwertzu » Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:36 pm

Hi PBMax,
Tracing screenshots should only be reported if your test fails. E.G. if an element during test run can't be found, Ranorex generally logs 3 screenshots.
Can you upload a compressed report report which contains the screenshots you are talking about?
regards, qwertzu

PBMax
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:42 pm

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by PBMax » Mon Aug 27, 2018 4:45 pm

I've attached a screenshot instead of my actual report. If you can see, I have an Info and User log message in TearDown and got screenshots when those steps did not fail.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
qwertzu
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by qwertzu » Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:03 pm

Hey,
Can you show us how you implemented the closing of your application?
Thanks ;-)

PBMax
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:42 pm

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by PBMax » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:04 pm

Is there something you are looking for? A little more info would be helpful for me to investigate a little.

User avatar
qwertzu
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Screenshot in teardown with no failures?

Post by qwertzu » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:52 am

Hi,
Please post the whole code you are using in order to close the application.

regards, qwertzu