Screenshots for the last three actions - iOS device

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
piotrb
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 12:41 pm

Screenshots for the last three actions - iOS device

Post by piotrb » Fri May 08, 2015 12:56 pm

If tracing screenshots option is enabled I get screenshots for the last three actions (automatically) if any failure occurs and this is OK, but these screenshots are taken form my PC. Is there any option to change screenshots source, so they are taken from iOS device?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Screenshots for the last three actions - iOS device

Post by Support Team » Tue May 12, 2015 6:43 pm

Hi piotrb,

Unfortunately I was not able to reproduce this issue with our latest version of Ranorex.
May I ask you which version you are currently using and if it is possible for you to install the latest one?

Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

piotrb
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 12:41 pm

Re: Screenshots for the last three actions - iOS device

Post by piotrb » Mon May 18, 2015 1:04 pm

Currently I'm using version 5.3.2 of Ranorex Studio. On my side this issue is 100 % reproducible. This is related to description in support guide lesson 8:

"Note: Please consider that the report information at the failure level provides a screenshot automatically (if tracing screenshots is enabled). In order to visually retrace the last steps that lead to the current error, screenshots will be provided for the last three actions."

And screenshots are provided but from currently opened Windows window, not from iOS application under test.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Screenshots for the last three actions - iOS device

Post by Support Team » Wed May 20, 2015 1:43 pm

Hi piotrb,

Thank you for the additional information.

I was finally able to reproduce the mentioned behavior with Report.Failure. I've already added an entry in our internal bug-tracking-system and our Development team will analyze the issue in more detail.

As a temporary workaround I’d suggest using the Report.Screenshot method in combination with the base repository item of your application.

Thank you for your understanding and your patience.

Regards,

Markus (S)
.
Image