search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Bug reports.
hobli
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:15 am

search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Post by hobli » Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:15 am

HI,

The search next (F3) in ranorex studio editor is not working, when I click on menu->Search->Find Next (F3) or short cut key "F3", nothing happen.

ranorex 2.3.2 is used.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:07 am

Hi,

If you are in the Search and Replace Dialog, you get the next search result by pressing "Enter". If I close the dialog, I'm able to press F3 and Ranorex Studio finds the next value. Could it be possible that your document lost the focus?
Please try to enter a string into the tool bar, click on your document and search with "F3" to find the next element. I'm using Ranorex 2.3.2.8802 and it works as expected.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

hobli
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:15 am

Re: search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Post by hobli » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:43 am

Hi,

I just notice, if I select mainmenu->Search->Find, with "current document, all open documents, current selection", press "F3" to search next. When select option of 'search whole solution, search whole project', it won't work.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:47 pm

Hi,

It seems to be a bug in Sharp Develop. Ranorex Studio is based on the Sharp Develop Studio. I've submitted a bug in our internal bug tracking system and we will fix this with a newer version of Ranorex. But IMHO, it is better to use the "Find All" function if you search for a keyword over your whole solution. If you are searching on that way, you will get a list of all elements which include your expected keyword in a "Search Result List". In this list you will jump, by double clicking on a result, directly to the code line.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

hobli
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:15 am

Re: search next not functioing in ranorex studio

Post by hobli » Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:00 am

hi,

thanks for suggestion.