select from a dropdown list

Ask general questions here.
cs97jjm3
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm

select from a dropdown list

Post by cs97jjm3 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:43 pm

hello, simple question but the dropdown is dynamic..
the drop down list only shows when selected the open (arrow) button
select database.rxsnp
(37.58 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.99 KiB) Viewed 96 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12143
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: select from a dropdown list

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 29, 2020 9:04 pm

Can you clarify more on exactly what you are trying to achieve with this select box? To expand the select box, perform a click action on the below element.

Code: Select all

/form[@controlname='WROptionManager']//combobox[@controlname='dbname']
Which one do you want to be selected by Ranorex? For example, if you want it to always select the third one down, you can perform a click via the item's index (1 is first item).

Code: Select all

./item[][3]
If the item you want to select is variable based on some other information from the application, you can use a variable in the RxPath.

Code: Select all

./item[@text=$varOption]
The more information you can provide regarding this, the better I will be able to advise you on how to achieve this. Nonetheless, I hope it helps!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

cs97jjm3
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: select from a dropdown list

Post by cs97jjm3 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:59 am

Wow thanks for this..

1. To expand the select box, perform a click action on the below element for csv file

i have struggle with this and it is driving me made , so once again thanks for your assitance