select from a dropdown list

Ask general questions here.
cs97jjm3
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm

select from a dropdown list

Post by cs97jjm3 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 2:43 pm

hello, simple question but the dropdown is dynamic..
the drop down list only shows when selected the open (arrow) button
select database.rxsnp
(37.58 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.99 KiB) Viewed 199 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12167
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: select from a dropdown list

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 29, 2020 9:04 pm

Can you clarify more on exactly what you are trying to achieve with this select box? To expand the select box, perform a click action on the below element.

Code: Select all

/form[@controlname='WROptionManager']//combobox[@controlname='dbname']
Which one do you want to be selected by Ranorex? For example, if you want it to always select the third one down, you can perform a click via the item's index (1 is first item).

Code: Select all

./item[][3]
If the item you want to select is variable based on some other information from the application, you can use a variable in the RxPath.

Code: Select all

./item[@text=$varOption]
The more information you can provide regarding this, the better I will be able to advise you on how to achieve this. Nonetheless, I hope it helps!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

cs97jjm3
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: select from a dropdown list

Post by cs97jjm3 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:59 am

Wow thanks for this..

1. To expand the select box, perform a click action on the below element for csv file

i have struggle with this and it is driving me made , so once again thanks for your assitance