Set default script-language

Ask general questions here.
MiMa
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: Kelsterbach / Germany
Contact:

Set default script-language

Post by MiMa » Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:23 pm

Hi there,

is there a way to set Default script-language to vb.net in the new-solution-dialog?

Or to disable C# completly?

Thanks
MiMa

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Set default script-language

Post by krstcs » Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:09 pm

There is no way to disable C#, it is built into the .NET system.

When you create a new solution you can choose which language to use in the first project by selecting the C# or VBNet folders under Categories. In subsequent projects Ranorex defaults to the language you chose for the first one.

There is currently no way to set VB.NET as the default for all new suites, you will just have to make sure that the first project in the solution is created as a VB.NET project.



As a side note, if you are coming from Quicktest Pro, VB.NET is very different from VBScript, so it may be a good time to go ahead and learn C#. In my opinion (take it for what it's worth), C# is a better language for development due to the similarities with other high-level languages like Java and C++. However, it doesn't really matter since both are built on .NET.
Shortcuts usually aren't...