Specify test report folder from command line?

Ask general questions here.
kmck
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:41 pm

Specify test report folder from command line?

Post by kmck » Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:47 pm

I am running a few test suites from command line, and I was wondering if there was a switch to add to the command, or an option in Ranorex, to place the report files into a specified folder relative to the current directory?

I ask for organization reasons. Having the Ranorex report, DATA file, CSS, PNG, XSL and images_ folder created in the same directory as the batch file makes it fairly unorganized and I would like to separate the reports from the batch file's directory. Is this possible?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Specify test report folder from command line?

Post by krstcs » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:07 pm

See the command-line usage page here: http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3022

Just put the folder in your parameter for the report name.

test.exe /reportfile:"Reports\Report.rxlog"

Also, I recommend naming your reports as html files with the /rf (/reportfile) switch.

test.exe /rf:"Reports/Report.html"

This will allow anyone to open the report with their browser easily.



If you are needing an easier, compact format to work with, you might try using the Zipped Report File switch (/zr and /zrf).

test.exe /zr /zrf:"Reports\Report.zip"

This will package it all neatly. The normal extension is ".rxzlog", but it is actually just a zip file, so you can use the /zrf switch to name it that so everyone knows to unzip it.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

kmck
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Specify test report folder from command line?

Post by kmck » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:10 pm

I swear I tried using all of those switches, /rf included, but didn't achieve the same results. In any case, this is exactly what I was looking for, thank you!

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Specify test report folder from command line?

Post by krstcs » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:25 pm

You're welcome! Hope it helps.
Shortcuts usually aren't...