Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Ask general questions here.
Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:06 pm

Hello

I'm having an issue with Ranorex Spy. Seems that it doesn't wan't to find all the elements seen by users.

Info:
Ranorex 5.4.1
SAP GUI 7.40 Patch 4
Win 7 64-bit

The issue is that in most of the screens Ranorex Spy can only find the main element within what the needed elements are in.
Untitled.jpg
issue on hand
Untitled.jpg (98.84 KiB) Viewed 2082 times
I have tried multiple combinations to fix the issue:
Spy32bit
Spy64bit
Running SAP and Ranorex with Admin rights
Running SAP and Ranorex without Admin rights
Reinstalling Ranorex
Reinstalling Ranorex to a different folder
Reinstalling Ranorex to a different folder without the version number

Also I have scripting enabled in SAP.

So the question on hand is, should I be able to select the elements (such as nameTags, textfields etc.) I wish from inside the main container area or are there some restrictions I don't know about or am I just missing something?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:23 pm

Hi Martin,

Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot of the element in question? Without snapshot, it's next to impossible to suggest something useful.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:18 am

Sent the snapshot to support.

Odklizec, if you haven any time or will to check it as well, give me a reply and I can send you the snapshot as well.

Thanks,
Martin

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:37 am

Also I had some progress using the GDI capture list, but this can only get me the raw text seen.
Still cannot seem to get the textbox elements from the forms.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:16 pm

Hi Martin,

I'm currently out of my Ranorex machine, so I can't help you much. I'm sure Ranorex folks will contact you soon.

BTW, have you enbaled SAP scripting support in SAP settings? Please check this Ranorex support page regarding SAP testing...
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html
This may be the reason why you cannot access the individual elements.

Another possibility may be that not all SAP elements are supported yet and therefore, the GDI access may be currently your only option?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:40 pm

Hey, thanks for your reply

Scripting is actually enabled.

These SAP elements are quite common ones and probably already from the 1st versions of SAP GUI.

But I did some further digging and maybe it might even be an issue of the views?

Cause the form (from the second picture from the 1st post) is actually composed of different screens.
So probably they are in a larger container. But still should be able to access the child elements then.
odklizec wrote:Hi Martin,

I'm currently out of my Ranorex machine, so I can't help you much. I'm sure Ranorex folks will contact you soon.

BTW, have you enbaled SAP scripting support in SAP settings? Please check this Ranorex support page regarding SAP testing...
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html
This may be the reason why you cannot access the individual elements.

Another possibility may be that not all SAP elements are supported yet and therefore, the GDI access may be currently your only option?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:56 pm

Well, it's possible that due to the design of individual forms, it may not be possible to track the underlying elements via spy or recording. But it may still be possible to access them directly via spy tree or manually constructed xpath. Feel free to send me the snapshot and I can check it tomorrow when I will be back at work.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:03 pm

odklizec wrote:Well, it's possible that due to the design of individual forms, it may not be possible to track the underlying elements via spy or recording. But it may still be possible to access them directly via spy tree or manually constructed xpath. Feel free to send me the snapshot and I can check it tomorrow when I will be back at work.
Spy tree basically contains 2 elements in the end - left side of the container area (that actually includes all the layout stuff) and the right side of the container.

Not sure about manual contstructing of the path though.

I'll send you the snapshot via PM in a sec.

And big thanks to you for taking the time to understand my issue!

Thanks,
Martin

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:32 am

Hi,

Are you sure you posted me a correct snapshot? The one you sent me does not look like the screenshot you posted in your first post?

In the snapshot you sent me, there seems to be no access to the individual elements of "element 100", which is a SAP TreeList. Is this the same kind of element as in you initial post? My best guess is, that this TreeList is not yet supported by Ranorex? I'm sure Ranorex folks will provide you with more details.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:37 am

odklizec wrote:Hi,

Are you sure you posted me a correct snapshot? The one you sent me does not look like the screenshot you posted in your first post?

In the snapshot you sent me, there seems to be no access to the individual elements of "element 100", which is a SAP TreeList. Is this the same kind of element as in you initial post? My best guess is, that this TreeList is not yet supported by Ranorex? I'm sure Ranorex folks will provide you with more details.
Hey

1st of all thanks for taking a look.

Yeah it's actually the correct one. And yeah that's exactly the issue. The "element 100" doesn't contain any further child elements (except 2 (left and right side of the container area).

And atm I'm not sure if it's a resctriction from Ranorex or SAP side.

Today i'll be trying out IBM RFT with the same place and see if there is any change.


PS. Ranorex support hasn't replied yet




Edit: Quick note. In the 1st post i have actually posted 2 screenshot. The bottom one is for the snapshot i posted. The 1st one is from another screen (SAP specific) and was there just as another example but is not included in the snapshot.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:18 am

Hi Martin,

You are welcome. Sorry, I missed the second screenshot ;)

Anyway, I would suggest to try to examine the problematic element with Microsoft's Inspect tool (discussed >here<). If the Inspect tool can select the child elements of "Element 100", then it's definitely something Ranorex folks should look into. Most probably not yet implemented support for this kind of SAP element. Good luck!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:32 am

odklizec wrote:Hi Martin,

You are welcome. Sorry, I missed the second screenshot ;)

Anyway, I would suggest to try to examine the problematic element with Microsoft's Inspect tool (discussed >here<). If the Inspect tool can select the child elements of "Element 100", then it's definitely something Ranorex folks should look into. Most probably not yet implemented support for this kind of SAP element. Good luck!
Thanks for the idea. I'll take a look right away.

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:08 pm

Seems to have the same issue with with MS Inspect.

But did some further digging (I, myself, am quite new to SAP, so debugging that side takes more time for me atm) and waiting for sys admins to change a global parameter for the server.

If this fixes the issue i'll sure let Ranorex support know as well as this should be included in the "setting up Ranorex for SAP" documentation as a dependency.

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by Martin » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:18 pm

Issue solved. Was related to my last thought.

I'll post the requirements here as well as i'll send it to Ranorex Support to update documentation tomorrow during my working hours.

Thanks for the help!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy can't find all of the SAP GUI elements

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:24 pm

Nice to hear you found the solution! ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration