Spy showing different thing.

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
FPI
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:28 pm

Spy showing different thing.

Post by FPI » Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:39 pm

Hello,

Our product just underwent an up grade from net 3.5 to 4.0 and some items are now being idenitfied differently. Now, my problem is that on my machine (win 7, ranorex 3.0) things are identified in one way, and on my co-worker's machine (has the same setup as mine) things are identified how they were before.

some of the things that are happeneing:
- most of the items that were identified as containers are now unknown elements and the only identifiying features is the instance number.
- most of the buttons are now identified as elements and the actual button is a child of that element.

I had somethign similar happen when I used the x64 spy vs the x86 one (our application is currently x86), and I made sure I was using the correct version of the spy.

Also, I've had the spy once or twice show what it used to show.

Any ideas of what might be going on?

Thanks

User avatar
artur_gadomski
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:55 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Spy showing different thing.

Post by artur_gadomski » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:10 am

Do you have ony Ranorex 3 on your machine or do you have 2.3 also?
Are you running spy as administrator?
Look for differences between your colegue's machine and yours. It's unlikely that with same configuration it works on his but not on yours.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Spy showing different thing.

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:52 pm

Hi,

as artur mentioned try to find out differences in both configurations.
Have a look at following link which might help you find those differences:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... oting.html

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team
.
Image