Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Liss
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:04 pm

Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by Liss » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:47 pm

Hi,

I'm evaluating Ranorex, and observing visual issues with its tools (I use Spy primarily) on my high-resolution screen - the top panel controls, including xpath bar, partially hidden behind the other controls and too small (please check the area enclosed in red rectangle):
ranorexSpy.png
ranorexSpy.png (113.91 KiB) Viewed 1363 times
My configuration:
Windows 10, screen resolution: 1280 X 1880, standard DPI settings. The Windows is running on a Bootcamp on MacBook (may this cause the issue?).
Any ideas of how to fix it? It's annoying...

--
Thanks in advance

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:20 pm

Hello Liss,

Unfortunately, we haven’t seen this or a similar issue on Windows 10 machines. Neither on physical machines nor on virtual machines. This indicates that the issue is most likely related to your current setup of Windows.

One thing you can try is to "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" in the Properties of the Ranorex Studio/Spy executable files or the corresponding shortcuts respectively:
Spy_Properties.PNG
Spy_Properties.PNG (37.79 KiB) Viewed 1337 times
Just right click on the Studio/Spy shortcut, select "Properties", and click on the "Compatibility" tab page.

Otherwise, I’m afraid that we are only of little help if we can’t reproduce the issue on our side.

Thank you for your understanding.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

Liss
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:04 pm

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by Liss » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:00 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, your suggestion didn't help:(
Do you have any environment to try it out on MacOSX bootcamp to confirm this is the root cause of the issue?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by Support Team » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:44 pm

Hello Liss,

Unfortunately, this is not possible since it diverges too far from our supported field. I’m afraid that my hands are tied, since the issue isn’t reproducible on a common Windows 10 machine.

Thank you for your understanding.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by odklizec » Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:20 pm

Hi,

I would suggest you to check Windows Display settings, if there is not increased font scale (well over 100%). This is the most probable reason of your problem. Just reduce it back to 100 (max 125)%. Hope this helps?
130936339553425155.jpg
130936339553425155.jpg (112.65 KiB) Viewed 1295 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

myvryn
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:15 pm

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by myvryn » Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:19 pm

This is very much reproducible on Win10 machines.

I'm running latest build Windows10 on a Surface book (hi resolution 3000x2000) and see this problem. Neither of the suggested solutions fixes the problem.

dpFourOFour
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by dpFourOFour » Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:50 pm

Hi myvryn,

I had the same issue on my Surface Book. Make sure to sign out and in again after changing the DPI settings.
This solved the issue on my machine.

Best,
DP
Please always include the following information to your posts
  • Ranorex Version
  • OS Version

csharpster
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by csharpster » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:17 pm

Changing the font scale is not an acceptable solution on a Surface Pro 4. If you turn off scaling, everything becomes very tiny. I'm not going to turn off scaling to work with one app and have to work with it in very tiny mode as well.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy: top panel hardly usable on high-resolution screen

Post by odklizec » Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:40 pm

I'm afraid, changing the font scale is the only option. But luckily for you, it's possible to disable the font scale per application. So all you need to do is to disable it just for Ranorex Studio and keep everything else scaled.
DisableScale.png
DisableScale.png (14.53 KiB) Viewed 674 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration